Connect with us

Video

RACE REWIND: Monza 2012

With no GTWC Europe race today, revisit Monza’s opening round from the 2012 season…

This weekend was supposed to mark the start of the GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS season and to mark the occasion, SRO Motorsports Group is going back in time to 2012 revisit the opening round of what was then the Blancpain Endurance Series.

Entering only its second year, the championship kicked off with its now-traditional three-hour race at Monza.

The weather would prove to be a key storyline that day, with the No. 71 Kessel Racing Ferrari eventually leading away from pole on a soaked circuit.

As is so often the case, challenging conditions allowed the most gifted drivers to demonstrate their skills.

In particular, a stunning performance from Maxime Martin saw the Belgian ace lapping up to three seconds faster than his nearest rivals as the Marc VDS Racing BMW charged though the field.

The event featured a bumper 57-car entry list, setting a record at the time for a single-category GT3 contest.

Several drivers who remain active in what is now GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS were on the grid, including star-of-the-race Martin, poleman Davide Rigon, and Audi Sport stalwart Christopher Haase.

What’s more, MotoGP legend Valentino Rossi contested the event at the wheel of a Kessel Ferrari, making the first of two special guest appearances during the 2012 campaign.

With plenty of other storylines running throughout an exciting event, it is the ideal race to revisit.

The race will be screened in full from 2 p.m. CEST (8 a.m. EST / 1 p.m. BST) on the GT World YouTube channel and GT World Challenge Europe Facebook page.

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.

Click to comment
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

More in Video