Connect with us


Porsche Retains Full-Season LMP1 Lineup for 2016

Porsche retains all six of its full-season drivers for 2016…

Photo: Porsche

Photo: Porsche

Porsche will retain all six of its full-season drivers in next year’s FIA World Endurance Championship, the German manufacturer has confirmed Saturday.

The confirmation leaves 24 Hours of Le Mans winners Nick Tandy and Earl Bamber unable to defend their overall crown in 2016, due to a joint decision by Audi and Porsche to eliminate their third LMP1 entries for the race.

Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard will return to defend their World Championship, with Romain Dumas, Marc Lieb and Neel Jani back in the second Porsche 919 Hybrid, also for the third consecutive year.

“Both our driver trios didn’t only perform brilliantly on track, but have also been with us since the beginning of the program and have significantly contributed to the Porsche 919 Hybrid’s development,” said Fritz Enzinger, Vice President LMP1.

“We are very proud of these six top drivers, and very pleased all of them are on board for the 2016 world championship and the Le Mans 24 Hours.”

Added team principal Andreas Seidl: “This also proves how important it is in this championship to have two equally strong driver crews. We will build on that strength and continuity.”

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365 as well as the recently launched e-racing365 Web site for electric racing. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for Channel, and contributes to other publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. 7D3

    November 28, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    So Sad that Tandy and Bamber can’t defend their crown.

    Maybe Porsche can enter the 3rd 919 under the name of another team.

    Like maybe have Porsche with the great name ‘Red Bull Racing’ finally coming to Le Mans. But, under the Porsche name, calling it ‘Porsche Red Bull Racing’. Won’t that be something.

    Team: Porsche Red Bull Racing
    Car: Porsche 919 Hybrid
    Number: 20
    Drivers: Nick Tandy, Earl Bamber, ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in FIA WEC