Connect with us

24H Series

Frankenhout Puts Hofor Mercedes on Zandvoort Pole

Christiaan Frankenhout outpaces Mercedes-AMG works drivers…

Photo: 24H Series - Eric Teeken

Photo: 24H Series – Eric Teeken

Hofor Racing will start the 2nd Hankook 12 Hours of Zandvoort from pole after setting the fastest time in qualifying at Circuit Park Zandvoort.

Driving the No. 10 Hofor Racing Mercedes SLS AMG GT3, Christiaan Frankenhout set the fastest lap in the qualifying session, lapping the 2.676-mile Zandvoort circuit in 1:38.283.

Frankenhout’s pole time was 1.715 seconds faster than last year’s pole time, set by Maximilian Buhk in a Hofor Racing Mercedes.

The Dutchman will share the car with Kenneth Heyer, Roland Eggimann, Michael and Chantal Kroll, while also racing the team’s second Mercedes SLS AMG GT3.

Frankenhout outpaced Mercedes-AMG factory drivers Thomas Jaeger and Bernd Schneider. Jaeger qualified the No. 30 RAM Racing Mercedes in second place, with Schneider taking third in the No. 2 HP Racing Mercedes.

Alfred Renauer qualified the Mugello race winning No. 7 HB Racing Team Herberth Porsche 997 GT3 R in fourth place, ahead of Peter Kox in the No. 4 Scuderia Praha Ferrari 458 Italia GT3.

FIA WTCC ace Tom Coronel in the No. 67 GDL Racing Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 completed the top-six.

In the 997 class for Porsche Cup cars the No. 52 Porsche 991 Cup of Luca Rettenbacher qualified in first place, ahead of the No. 20 MRS GT-Racing Porsche 991 Cup of Xavier Maassen.

RESULTS: Qualifying A6, 997 & SP2

Marcel ten Caat (@marceltencaat) is a contributor to Sportscar365 and other publications including

Click to comment

More in 24H Series