Connect with us

24H Series

Precote Herberth Porsche Wins 12H Zandvoort

Precote Herberth Motorsport wins at Zandvoort…

Photo: Boost Racing Images

Photo: Boost Racing Images

Precote Herberth Motorsport has won the Hankook 12H Zandvoort, the fourth round of the 2016 24H Series.

The No. 911 Porsche 911 GT3 R of Daniel Allemann, Ralf Bohn, Robert Renauer and Alfred Renauer was the only car to stay out of trouble, eventually finishing the race after 368 laps with a four-lap lead.

Massive Motorsport finished in second place, despite suffering some electrical issues during the second part of the race. The No. 55 Aston Martin Vantage was unable to challenge the Porsche as a result.

Hofor Racing, the winners of the 2015 edition and race leaders after the first three-hour part, lost that lead immediately after the restart. The Swiss team was unable to make up positions due to refueling issues.

The No. 30 Ram Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3, which had been given a ten-lap-penalty, finished in fourth place. Tom Onslow-Cole did everything he could to catch the Hofor Racing Mercedes in the final hour, but eventually finished one lap behind the Hofor car.

In the 991-class for Porsche Cup cars victory went to the No. 72 HRT Performance Porsche 991 Cup of Renger van der Zande, Rene Ogrocki, Artem Soloviev and Kim André Hauschild. The team’s second car retired from the lead with four hours to go.

MRS GT Racing drivers Charles Putman, Charles Espenlaub and Xavier Maassen crossed the line in first place in the class, but were excluded after failing post-race scrutineering.

The next race of the 24H Series will take place on July 15-17 at Paul Ricard.


Marcel ten Caat (@marceltencaat) is a contributor to Sportscar365 and other publications including

Click to comment

More in 24H Series