Connect with us

GT World Challenge America

CRP Wins, Cadillac Takes SprintX Title in Race 2 at COTA

CRP Racing wins, Taylor and Cooper clinch the SprintX title at COTA…

Photo: Brian Cleary/

CRP Racing used a rapid pit stop to leapfrog into the lead and Daniel Morad held off Patrick Long to win Pirelli World Challenge SprintX Race 2, while Cadillac Racing’s Jordan Taylor and Michael Cooper claimed the season championship.

After a strong opening stint from Ryan Dalziel, who ran as high as second in the No. 2 Mercedes-AMG GT3, Morad rejoined the race ahead of the Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R of Long and Joerg Bergmeister after a near-perfect pit sequence from the CRP Racing team.

From there, Morad withstood a strong charge from Long to take the team’s second SprintX win of the year.

Long and Bergmeister settled for second while Pierre Kaffer and Spencer Pumpelly completed the overall podium in third for Magnus Racing.

The battle for championship was decided in anticlimactic fashion when both of the contending cars were eliminated from the race in a first lap accident.

Niccolo Schiro spun in the No. 31 TR3 Racing Ferrari 488 GT3 on the first lap and collected Jordan Taylor in the No. 8 Cadillac Racing Cadillac ATS-V.R, taking both cars out of the race and clinching the title for Taylor and Cooper.

With their win, Dalziel and Morad jumped to second in SprintX GT Pro-Pro points, coming up just three points short of the championship.

Long jumped up to third in the final standings, while the TR3 Racing’s Daniel Mancinelli slipped to fourth after entering the day in second.

James Sofronas and Mathieu Jaminet won for the third time in as many races in the Pro-Am category after a thrilling duel with Black Swan Racing’s Tim Pappas in the closing laps.

The result was good enough to secure the SprintX Pro-Am championship for Sofronas, his first career PWC title.

Other class winners included Henrique Cisneros and Peter Ludwig in GT Am-Am, Yuki Harata and Alessandro Bessan in GT Cup Pro-Am, Cory Friedman and Joe Toussaint in GT Cup Am-Am, Sean Gibbons and Derek DeBoer in GTS Am-Am, and Adam Merzon and Trent Hindman in GTS Pro-Am.

Tape-delayed coverage of this weekend’s SprintX racing will air September 10th at 3:30 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.

Results: Race 2

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

1 Comment

More in GT World Challenge America