Connect with us

Pirelli GT4 America

31 GT4 America Sprint, SprintX Entries Set for CTMP

Pirelli GT4 America heads North of the Border to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park for another double-header…

Photo: SRO

The Pirelli GT4 America Sprint and SprintX series will be back in action this weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Thirty-one teams across both championships representing 10 of manufacturers will compete.

GT4 Sprint features a single-driver, 50-minute double-header race weekend, while SprintX showcases a pair of two-driver, 60-minute races with pit stops.

GT4 Sprint Title Fight Heating Up

A total of 18 cars are entered for Rounds 10 and 11 of GT4 Sprint, split between the Pro and Am classes.

In the Pro division, six drivers representing Panoz, Chevrolet, McLaren, Porsche and KTM will lock horns looking to stand on the top step in victory circle.

Ian James and Gar Robinson come into the weekend tied for the lead in driver championship points with 68 points each. James won Round 1 and will pilot the No. 50 Panoz Avezzano GT4, while Robinson has four top three-finishes so far this season and will pilot the No. 74 Robinson Racing Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R.

Three-time series champion Michael Cooper sits third in championship points and will drive the No. 10 Blackdog Speed Shop McLaren 570S GT4. Spencer Pumpelly had a dominating flag-to-flag win on the Streets of Long Beach in Round 3. He will pilot the No. 66 TRG Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport.

Shane Lewis will get behind the wheel of the No. 72 Robinson Camaro GT4, his best finish of 2019 so far was a third in Round 2. Rounding out the Pro Division, the No. 71 KTM X-bow will be piloted by Nicolai Elghanayan.

In what promises to be a very competitive weekend of GT4 Am Division racing, the top-five competitors running in the class all fall within a 11-point spread in the driver’s championship standings.

Jarett Andretti sits a single point ahead of Matt Fassnacht (51 to 50).

Fassnacht comes off impressive back-to-back victories at VIR and will drive the No. 53 Murillo Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4.

Driving the No. 12 Ian Lacy Racing Ford Mustang GT4, Drew Staveley sits only two-points behind Fassnacht with 48 points, while Alan Brynjolfsson sits at 45 points and will drive the #7 Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR. #11 McLaren 570S GT4 driver Tony Gaples is a series veteran with over 160 starts – he comes into the weekend with 40 points.

Completing the field are Jason Bell in the No. 2 GMG Racing Porsche, Sean Quinlan in the No. 19 Stephen Cameron Racing BMW M4 GT4, Frank Gannett piloting the No. 24 Ian Lacy Mustang GT4, Mark Klenin in the No. 62 McLaren GT4, and lone Canadian entered in class, Thomas Collingwood in the No. 169 BGB Motorsports Porsche GT4.

Hart, Travis Lead SprintX Field Heading to CTMP

Several Sprint GT4 drivers will do double duty and co-pilot SprintX machinery entered for CTMP, which sees 15 cars in total entered

Porsche will be well represented by several teams including Matt Travis and Jason Hart who have so far had a dominating 2019 campaign winning all four SprintX contests. They will co-pilot the No. 47 Nolasport Porsche GT4.

Other Porsche teams include Sean Gibbons and Derek DeBoer in the No. 17 TRG  entry, Stuart Briscoe and Andrew Davis in the No. 32 Kelly-Moss Road & Race, Collingwood and John Tecce in the No. 69 BGB entry and Alan Brynjolfsson and Trent Hindman No. 77 Park Place Motorsports Porsche.

BMW will be well represented as well. Quinlan and Gregory Liefooghe sit second overall in class championship points and will co-drive the No. 19 Stephen Cameron Racing BMW GT4.

The team of Chris Ohmacht and Toby Grahovec will drive the No. 92 Classic BMW machine, James Clay and Randy Mueller will co-pilot the Epic Motorsports No. 3 entry, John Allen and Kris Wilson will drive the No. 16 Auto Technic Racing BMW GT4 while Justin Raphael and Stevan McAleer will co-pilot the No. 29 Classic BMW entry.

Ginetta, McLaren, Audi and Panoz will also have entries in the field.

Anthony Geraci and Elivan Goulart will run the No. 27 KRUGSPEED Ginetta G55 GT4,  Andretti and Canadian Karl Thomson will share duties in the No. 36 Andretti Autosport McLaren GT4, Eric and Greg Palmer will drive the No. 44 Kelly-Moss/Photon Motorsports Audi R8 LMS GT4 and  Preston Calvert and Matt Keegan will drive the No. 51 Panoz.

GT4 classes get their first official track time starting with Sprint practice on Thursday at 5 p.m. local time, while qualifying begins Friday at 1:05 p.m and the first GT4 SprintX race set for a green flag start at 5:30 p.m. on Friday.

All Sprint and SprintX races will be streamed live on and via audio simulcast on SiriusXM satellite radio Ch. 383 (983 on the app).

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

More in Pirelli GT4 America