Connect with us

Pirelli GT4 America

DeBoer, Liefooghe Take GT4 West Poles

Derek DeBoer and Greg Liefooghe each scored pole at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca…

Photo: Brian Cleary/SRO America

Derek DeBoer and Greg Liefooghe each took pole for the pair of Pirelli GT4 America West races at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

DeBoer jumped to the top of the chart in the final three minutes of Qualifying 1 with a session-best lap of 1:32.001 in the No. 17 TRG Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport, displacing his teammate Kevin Woods.

Woods will share the front row in his No. 67 Porsche, while Brett Strom and Jon Miller locked down the second row for RHC Jorgensen/Strom and ST Racing, respectively.

Miller in fourth was the quickest of the Pro-Am class cars.

In qualifying for Race 2, it was the Cameron Racing BMB M4 GT4 of Liefooghe that set the fastest time of 1:31.123, checking in a full 1.127 seconds clear of his closest challenger.

ST Racing’s Jason Wolfe and Harry Gottsacker made it a BMW sweep of the top three spots, while Mark Pavan checked in with the fourth fastest time in the No. 54 SIN R1 GT4 for Racers Edge Motorsports.

Pavan was quickest in the Am category.

Both GT4 West races will be held on Friday, with Race 1 beginning at 10 a.m. PST and Race 2 to follow at 2:30 p.m.

RESULTS: Qualifying 1
RESULTS: Qualifying 2

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in Pirelli GT4 America