Connect with us

Other Series

Cayman GT4 Clubsport Trophy East Expands to Eight Rounds for 2017

2017 PCA Club Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport Trophy East series schedule released…

Photo: PCA Club Racing

Photo: PCA Club Racing

The PCA Club Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport Trophy East series has grown from six events in its inaugural season to eight events for the 2017 season, including a new addition in Canada.

The series announced the tentative 2017 schedule at the championship celebration banquet on Sunday evening at Daytona following the last race of the 2016 season.

Barber Motorsports Park, Monticello Motor Club and Canadian Tire Motorsport Park will be three new additions, increasing the series’ growing profile following a successful first season. Cayman GT4 Clubsport Trophy East is also welcoming several new drivers to the competitive, semi-professional series.

“The PCA Club Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport Trophy East series is continuing to expand following our strong inaugural season,” said Vicki Earnshaw, PCA Club Racing chair. “We’re looking forward to our 2017 season with the addition of both new drivers and new tracks.”

The 2017 season will kick off March 31-April 2 at Road Atlanta. The second event will be May 19-21 at Barber, which marks the series’ first visit to the iconic road circuit.

Two races will be held in June – the first June 2-4 at Watkins Glen International and the second June 23-25 at Virginia International Raceway. New this year, the series will visit Monticello on July 14-16.

Drivers and teams will then travel north to CTMP before rounding out the season on Sept. 15-17 at NOLA Motorsports Park and Daytona on Oct. 27-30.

Drivers compete in a separate group within the traditional PCA Club Racing races in the 385-horsepower, mid-engine racer, which features a sealed engine and transmission and a spec tire.

The car was developed by Porsche Motorsport North America and based on the successful street-legal Cayman GT4 sports car.

The events feature three races in an exciting, varied format relative to PCA Club Racing standards. The first and second races are 30-minute sprint races. The third race is an endurance race lasting 80 minutes.

Racing in the PCA Club Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport Trophy East series is divided into two classes – Championship class and Masters class. Each class is awarded with its own podium at the end of every race and individual champion at the end of every season.

Pirelli will return as the official tire provider of the series for the second season in 2017. Porsche Design and Stand 21 Racewear will also return as sponsors.

2017 PCA Club Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport Trophy East Series Schedule (Provisional)

March 31- April 2 – Road Atlanta
May 19-21 – Barber Motorsports Park
June 2-4 – Watkins Glen International
June 23-25 – Virginia International Raceway
July 14-16 – Monticello Motor Club
Aug. 4-6 – Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
Sept. 15-17 – NOLA Motorsports Park
Oct. 27-30 – Daytona International Speedway

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Other Series