Connect with us

Le Mans Cup

29 Cars for Le Mans Cup Season

Twenty-nine cars for Michelin Le Mans Cup season including three LMP3 manufacturers…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Twenty-nine cars will contest the Michelin Le Mans Cup season with a significant increase of LMP3 entries since last year.

The entry is split between 23 LMP3 cars and six GT3 entries and while the latter class’ numbers have remained stable, LMP3 has increased by ten cars since the 2017 season finale.

ENTRY LIST: Michelin Le Mans Cup

Three LMP3 manufacturers are represented on the grid with the 23-strong class made up of 16 Ligier JS P3 Nissans, six Norma M30 Nissans and a Ginetta LMP3 Nissan. 

Frontrunners DKR Engineering, Nielsen Racing, Motorsport98, Graff and United Autosports are all present, while Andy Meyrick, Michele Rugolo and Colin Braun are amongst the Pro drivers listed.

Reigning teams’ champion DKR has a new lineup of Leonard Hoogenboom and Jens Petersen, while runners-up Tony Wells and Colin Noble both return, albeit in different Ecurie Ecosse / Nielsen cars.

United Autosports and Graff have both increased their efforts to three cars, meanwhile.

Japanese team TKS will run a Ginetta for Shinyo Sano. The team ran in the Road to Le Mans races last year and has made sporadic appearances in the Asian Le Mans Series in recent seasons.

The GT3 class features five Ferrari 488 GT3s and a sole Porsche 911 GT3 R run by Ebimotors with the team switching from a Lamborghini Huracan GT3.

Kessel Racing will run three of the Ferraris while AF Corse will manage the other two, one of which will compete under the Spirit of Race banner.

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.

Click to comment

More in Le Mans Cup