Connect with us


Glickenhaus Lineup Confirmed in 37-Car Sebring Entry

Glickenhaus lineup set and JOTA adds Hertz-backed entry to LMP2 in 37-car entry list…

Photo: MPS Agency

Ryan Briscoe and Olivier Pla will join Romain Dumas at Glickenhaus for the opening round of the FIA World Endurance Championship at Sebring, which has 37 cars on the entry list.

Glickenhaus was the only Hypercar team still to announce its full crew for the 1000-mile race, having only initially confirmed Dumas in the No. 708 entry.

As indicated by team owner Jim Glickenhaus, the American squad has called upon three drivers who are familiar with its Pipo Moteurs-powered non-hybrid LMH prototype.

Briscoe, Pla and Dumas finished third at Sebring last season, while the latter two also went on to drive the Glickenhaus 007 Pipo at Spa, Monza and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

They were joined by Pipo Derani for the races after Sebring, but the Brazilian currently drives for Cadillac’s LMDh program in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship which is racing at the same Florida circuit as the WEC next month.

The other notable item on the Sebring entry is confirmation that Hertz Team JOTA will enter an Oreca 07 Gibson while awaiting delivery of its new Porsche 963 for Hypercar.

Porsche isn’t due to deliver LMDh cars to its three customer teams — JOTA, Proton Competition and JDC-Miller Motorsports — until the final week in April.

JOTA will run two of its Hypercar drivers in Yifei Ye and Will Stevens. The requirement for a Silver-rated driver in LMP2 has resulted in Antonio Felix da Costa being replaced by David Beckmann, who most recently competed in FIA Formula 2.

The British team has not stated whether it will also contest the six-hour races at Portimao and Spa in LMP2 before its Porsche makes its debut at Le Mans on June 10-11.

The Hypercar class for Sebring includes 11 competitors, with the race signaling the debuts of the Ferrari 499P and the Vanwall Vandervell 680, developed by ByKolles.

Apart from the customer Porsche 963s for JOTA and Proton, all of the planned full-season entries are present for the race which is being held on the Friday before the IMSA Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

The GTE-Am class contains some driver updates, mostly among Porsche outfits.

WeatherTech Championship competitors Ryan Hardwick and Zach Robichon will team up with Harry Tincknell in the No. 88 Proton Porsche 911 RSR-19. Proton’s other Porsche will be shared by team owner Christian Ried, Julien Andlauer and Mikkel O. Pedersen.

Matteo Cairoli will partner with the American duo of PJ Hyett and Gunnar Jeannette in AO Racing’s Porsche, with Ben Barker and Riccardo Pera continuing as Mike Wainwright’s co-drivers at GR Racing.

The third driver in the NorthWest AMR Aston Martin Vantage GTE, alongside Nicki Thiim and Paul Dalla Lana, is yet to be confirmed.

The WEC season-opener takes place on March 17 and will be preceded by a two-day Prologue official test involving all teams next weekend.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC