Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Audi to Support WRT, Sainteloc Entries for 24H Spa

Audi to support three cars at Total 24 Hours of Spa plus eight customer entries…

Photo: Audi

Audi Sport will provide support to Belgian Audi Club Team WRT and Sainteloc Racing at July’s Total 24 Hours of Spa. 

WRT will field two factory-backed cars while defending race winner Sainteloc will enter one Audi R8 LMS GT3.

2017 race winners Christopher Haase and Markus Winkelhock return to the Sainteloc entry alongside WRT regular Frederic Vervisch.

Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup points leaders Dries Vanthoor, Christopher Mies and Alex Riberas will drive one of the WRT cars while the team’s other full-season entry has an altered lineup.

Rene Rast and Nico Mueller will replace usual drivers Stuart Leonard and Sheldon van der Linde in the second WRT car, joining Robin Frijns.

Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour winners and Intercontinental GT Challenge points leaders Stuart Leonard, Frijns and Vanthoor will be in different entries while Leonard is yet to be placed in a car.

In addition to the three factory-backed entries, eight further Audis will be on the grid for Blancpain GT and Intercontinental GT Challenge centerpiece.

WRT is set to field two private cars with Marcel Fassler in one of them while Sainteloc will run an Am entry which will be driven by Simon Gachet, Nyls Stievenart, Marc Rostan and Christian Kelders, as reported by Sportscar365 last month.

Sportscar365 understands that Leonard and Daniel Serra are set to join Fassler in one of the private WRT cars.

Attempto Racing has two cars for the race with Jamie Green and Pierre Kaffer amongst the drivers in separate entries, while Car Collection Motorsport, Montplast by Land Motorsport and Aust Motorsport will each run one car.

Full-season driver Frank Stippler is named to the Car Collection entry while Kelvin van der Linde will pilot the Land car.

Audi 24H Spa Lineups:

Audi Sport Team Sainteloc – Christopher Haase, Markus Winkelhock, Frederic Vervisch*
Audi Sport Team WRT – Rene Rast, Nico Mueller, Robin Frijns*
Audi Sport Team WRT – Dries Vanthoor, Christopher Mies, Alex Riberas*
Attempto Racing – Jamie Green, TBA, TBA
Attempto Racing – Pierre Kaffer, TBA, TBA
Aust Motorsport – TBA, TBA, TBA
Belgian Audi Club Team WRT – Marcel Fassler, Stuart Leonard, Daniel Serra
Belgian Audi Club Team WRT – TBA, TBA, TBA 
Car Collection Motorsport – Frank Stippler, TBA, TBA
Montaplast by Land Motorsport – Kelvin van der Linde, Sheldon van der Linde, Jeffrey Schmidt
Sainteloc Racing – Simon Gachet, Nyls Stievenart, Marc Rostan, Christian Kelders

* Audi Sport factory supported entries 

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in Intercontinental GT Challenge