Connect with us

Prototype Challenge

Goldburg, Lindh Spin, Win Three-Hour VIR Enduro

Performance Tech duo give Motel 6-sponsored Ligier JS P320 Nissan maiden win…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Rasmus Lindh survived a 360-degree on-track whirl midway through Sunday’s IMSA Prototype Challenge race at Virginia International Raceway, lost the lead on a late restart and then made a bold pass on the final lap to collect the victory with co-driver Dan Goldburg in the No. 6 Performance Tech Motorsports Ligier JS P320 Nissan.

Josh Sarchet and Dakota Dickerson had a memorable day of their own in the No. 54 MLT Motorsports Ligier, charging from 14th on the starting grid to finish second and grab the championship lead with one race remaining.

Goldburg started on the outside of Row 1 and was still running second to pole sitter Moritz Kranz in the No. 21 Muehlner Motorsports America Duqueine D08 Nissan when he turned the car over to Lindh on the first pit stop some 45 minutes into the three-hour race – the longest of the Prototype Challenge season.

Just before the halfway point, Lindh was still hounding the No. 21, driven then by 18-year-old Ugo de Wilde.

As they approached Turn 10 on the 3.27-mile road course, Lindh suddenly spun on track but had the presence of mind to pop in the clutch as the No. 6 briefly went airborne and completed the 360-degree spin still on the asphalt – much as Danny Sullivan did when he won the 1985 Indianapolis 500.

Lindh didn’t lose a position and, in fact, took the race lead seconds later when de Wilde, the Belgian making his Prototype Challenge debut, slowed dramatically with a rear axle issue.

Watching it unfold from the pit stand, Goldburg said he and the Performance Tech crew were ready to write off the day when Lindh spun.

From there, Lindh was in command until a restart with 17 minutes remaining following the fourth and final full-course caution of the race.

Lindh locked his tires as he braked entering Turn 1, giving Stevan McAleer enough time and room to pass for the lead in the No. 43 Robillard Racing Duqueine.

It stayed that way until the final lap, when McAleer made his own mistake, sliding wide in the famous Oak Tree Turn (Turns 11 and 12). Lindh pulled alongside and the two cars bumped several times speeding along the back straight. They touched again in Turn 14, with McAleer sliding into the grass and Lindh speeding away to win by 0.305 seconds over Dickerson.

The runner-up finish was enough to push Dickerson and Sarchet into the points lead in the Lmp33-1 class. They hold a 100-point edge on Kranz, who finished 10th in class with de Wilde in the No. 21 Muehlner entry.

In the LMP3-2 class for previous-gen cars, Mike Watt and Nic Jonsson won handily in the No. 15 D Motorsports Ligier JS P3 Nissan. The No. 61 Conquest Racing Norma M30 Nissan spent lengthy time in the garage making mechanical repairs but finished second to clinch the class championship for co-drivers George Staikos and Danny Kok.

He and Kok strung together five straight second-place finishes in LMP3-2 – without a win – to secure the crown.

Brothers David and Keith Grant, co-drivers of the No. 40 JCD MotorSports Duqueine, were winners in Bronze Cup for entries with only Bronze-rated drivers.


Click to comment

More in Prototype Challenge