Connect with us

24H Series

24H Dubai Reaches Near 100-Car Entry

Nearly 100 cars set for Hankook 24H Dubai…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

Next month’s Hankook 24 Hours of Dubai is set to again feature a massive grid, with 98 cars on the latest version of the entry list for the 24H Series season-opener.

The twice-around-the-clock Middle Eastern enduro features a diverse mix of GT and touring car machinery, although more than two-dozen GT3-spec cars are set to do battle for overall honors in the A6 class.


Defending overall winners Belgian Audi Club Team WRT will return with an increased effort, with a pair of Audi R8 LMS cars, headlined by factory drivers Christopher Mies, Marcel Fassler, as well as newly crowned Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup champion Enzo Ide.

Stuart Leonard is the only one of the four 2016 race-winning drivers to return to the Belgian squad and will team up with Ide, Mies, Robin Frijns and Ruben Maes in the No. 4 entry, with Fassler, Michael Vergers and Saudi Princes Mohammed Bin Saud Al Saud and Mohammed Bin Faisal Al Saud completing the lineup in the No. 5 car.

Perennial favorites Black Falcon will return to the site of the 24-hour race debut of the Mercedes-AMG GT3, with the likes of Jeroen Bleekemolen, Maro Engel and Yelmer Buurman confirmed in the German squad’s two-car effort.

24H Series champions Hofor Racing will also enter a Mercedes-AMG GT3, which will carry the No. 1 numberplate, with SPS automotive-performance, IDEC Sport Racing and HTP Motorsport, featuring Bernd Schneider, completing the seven-car strong effort with the second-generation GT3 car.

Lamborghini will also be out in force in Dubai, with four Huracan GT3s as well as three Super Trofeo models.

Grasser Racing Team will field a pair of GT3 cars, featuring factory driver Mirko Bortolotti as well as team regulars Christian Engelhart and Rolf Ineichen, with 18-year-old Dutchman Rik Breukers set for his team debut.

Konrad Motorsport, which nearly finished on the podium until suffering late-race engine failure, will again have a single Huracan GT3 for a revised lineup of Marc Basseng, Marco Mapelli, Jules Gounon and Luca Stolz, while an additional Huracan GT3 will be run by HB Racing.

Porsche’s 911 GT3 R will also be well-represented, with entries from Manthey Racing, Forch Racing, IMSA Performance, Attempto Racing and Herberth, including works drivers Sven Mueller (Manthey), Wolf Henzler (Forch) and Porsche Young Professionals Matteo Cairoli and Mathieu Jaminet placed at Manthey and IMSA Performance, respectively.

Additional Audi entries will be fielded by Optimum Motorsport, featuring factory ace Christopher Haase, as well as a returning two-car effort from Car Collection Motorsport.

The race will also feature an increased number of American drivers, mostly in the other classes.

Newly crowned Pirelli World Challenge GTS champion Brett Sandberg will team up with 2016 rivals Anthony Mantella and Chaponick Jr. in a Reiter Engineering-run KTM X-Bow in SP2, while Rotek Racing has entered a pair of Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsports in SP3-GT4, largely featuring American drivers.

Charles Espenlaub, Charlie Putnam and Joe Foster, meanwhile, will be joined by Andy Pilgrim in a PROsport Performance-entered Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car in the 991 class.

For the first time, the event will feature a support race in the debut of Creventic’s new 24H Proto Series, which will feature three three-hour races in the build up to the 24-hour race on Jan. 13-14.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365 as well as the recently launched e-racing365 Web site for electric racing. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for Channel, and contributes to other publications worldwide. Contact John



  1. seth

    December 26, 2016 at 11:03 am

    Whats the deal with the Dodge Viper CC Series 2 (8400cc) , thats not the GT3 spec right?

  2. P

    December 26, 2016 at 12:44 pm

    Can’t wait to watch Dubai, the cars I’m looking forward to seeing are:

    New BMW M4 GT4
    RJN Nissan 370z
    New TCR Audi A3
    Lap57 Honda TCR

  3. Psychlops924

    December 26, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    There will also be two support races from the brand new TCR Middle East series, which will be the first two races for the series.
    Really looking forward to this one, 25 cars in the top class should mean some good racing.

    • P

      December 26, 2016 at 4:14 pm

      I reckon we are going to see teams from the TCR Series all over the world. Not just teams from the Middle East.

      Teams from:
      Middle East
      24H Series

      Entries: 30 to 36

      Alfa Romeo

      Looking forward to this Series.

    • Alric8

      December 27, 2016 at 7:14 am

      I doubt the racing will be particularly enthralling. The regulations do so little to keep racing close that cars often win by up to 20 laps. The 24h series has always been designed to race in – not to watch.

  4. Nick S

    December 26, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    Great looking field. Cool to see a C6.R and Viper CC in the mix. Anyway to watch this online?

    • seth

      December 26, 2016 at 3:29 pm

      free stream online

    • gtgianlu

      December 26, 2016 at 4:33 pm

  5. jaysfan

    December 26, 2016 at 11:36 pm

    Man, nearly 100 entries, IMSA Weather Tech Series can only dream about getting that many entries to show up for Daytona or Sebring events

    • Olly

      December 27, 2016 at 12:23 am

      As if Imsa would allow it too like in the 1900s, but I’d love to see that many cars from WEC ELMS and Imsa going at it at Daytona and Sebring.

    • Slow

      December 27, 2016 at 1:43 pm

      Yeah a pro series should really sure to be like an amateur series that has min lap times teams have to stay above

  6. Mike S.

    December 27, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    This has been a growing race the last 4 years. Been some really good battles. The fueling and other pit rules help cut some costs for teams as they actually pull up to the pumps like at a gas station. No fueling on pit lane. Separate area to fuel. Which in a simple way acutally is safer. Serperate safety concerns are neutralized a bit. I think the offseason scheduled time of year helps get some drivers and cars together more. But a good start to 2017 with this pure GT race.

  7. jaysfan

    December 27, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    I’m curious to find out on how this going to work, are they expecting all of the cars/teams to show up for tech inspection and qualifying and the race?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in 24H Series