Connect with us

Pirelli GT4 America

McAleer, Raphael Declared East Champs in Points Technicality

Classic BMW pairing win GT4 East Pro-Am title on points technicality…

Photo: SRO

Stevan McAleer and Justin Raphael have been declared Pirelli GT4 America SprintX East Pro-Am class champions due to a points technicality that has denied Karl Wittmer the title.

Wittmer was initially announced as the class champion in last month’s season-ending round at Road America.

However, following the publication of the official points standings this week by SRO Motorsports America, the Classic BMW pairing ended up finishing two points ahead of Wittmer in the standings.

This is due to a provision in the sporting regulations that prohibits new drivers or driver pairings entering the series in the final two rounds from scoring points.

The pairing of Guy Cosmo and Patrick Byrne, which joined the GT4 East Pro-Am class for the final two rounds at Watkins Glen and Road America, did not score points and were therefore invisible in the standings.

Cosmo and Byrne finished third overall and second in the GT4 East Pro-Am class in Race 2 at Road America, although second place points went to Wittmer instead.

Park Place Motorsports, meanwhile, were confirmed as GT4 East Pro-Am teams’ champions, while Murillo Racing’s Matt Fassnacht and Christian Szymczak won the GT4 East Am title.

Champions in the nationwide SprintX and regional GT4 West series will be crowned at Las Vegas Motor Speedway later this month.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Pirelli GT4 America