Connect with us


FIA Releases Provisional 2018 Driver Ratings List

FIA releases provisional driver ratings list for 2018…

Photo: FIA

The FIA has released the provisional driver ratings list for 2018, featuring a number of re-classifications that could impact Pro-Am-enforced sports car racing series globally.

The ratings system, which classifies drivers either as Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum, is enforced in the majority of championships sanctioned by the FIA/ACO, IMSA and SRO, as well as leading domestic championships, such as Pirelli World Challenge.

Drivers have two weeks to submit a request for review, with a final list expected to be out before the end of the year.

Notable Changes:
Chris Buncombe – Silver to Bronze
Matt Campbell – Silver to Gold
Alex Davison – Silver to Gold
Connor De Phillippi – Silver to Gold
David Donohue – Gold to Silver
Christian England – Bronze to Silver
Charles Espenlaub – Gold to Silver
Jules Gounon – Silver to Gold
Enzo Guibbert – Silver to Gold
Euan Hankey – Silver to Gold
Matevos Isaakyan – Silver to Gold
Nico Jamin – Silver to Gold
Jonny Kane – Platinum to Gold
Tom Kristensen – Platinum to Gold
Thomas Laurent – Silver to Gold
Shane Lewis – Silver to Bronze
Pippa Mann – Gold to Silver
Kyle Marcelli – Gold to Silver
Seb Morris – Silver to Gold
Andre Negrao – Silver to Gold
Xandy Negrao – Gold to Silver
Johnny O’Connell – Gold to Silver
Egor Orudzhev – Silver to Gold
Darryl O’Young – Gold to Silver
Spencer Pumpelly – Gold to Silver
Charlie Robertson – Silver to Gold
Leo Roussel – Silver to Gold
Scott Tucker – Silver to Bronze
Dries Vanthoor – Silver to Gold

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365 as well as the recently launched e-racing365 Web site for electric racing. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for Channel, and contributes to other publications worldwide. Contact John



  1. Rocket J. Squirrel

    November 20, 2017 at 7:47 am

    I’m glad they’re on top of Scott Tucker’s status.

    • Joe

      November 20, 2017 at 7:51 am

      He’ll have more options now for the 24 hrs of Sing Sing Penitentiary.

  2. Luc

    November 20, 2017 at 8:31 am

    Scott Tucker – Silver to Banned 🙂

    • J.C.

      November 20, 2017 at 9:11 am


    • Mike S.

      November 20, 2017 at 10:23 am

      Silver to gray. As in gray bars.

      • JeffB

        November 20, 2017 at 3:04 pm

        Scott Tucker – Silver to Prison

  3. John Mott

    November 20, 2017 at 10:23 am

    I didn’t realize there were any tracks inside a prison yard.

  4. Michael Lowrey

    November 20, 2017 at 10:43 am

    How does DragonSpeed’s LMP1 program work given the latest ratings? Henrik Hedman is listed as a bronze — I thought you had to be at least a silver to drive a LMP1?

    • Max

      November 20, 2017 at 11:29 am

      He’ll petition for an upgrade and likely get it.

      • AF

        November 22, 2017 at 7:35 am

        Or the ACO will refuse it on the basis of performance.

  5. Bert

    November 20, 2017 at 11:58 am

    Vaxiviere should be a scrap metal rated driver…which is what he turned the Risi Ferrari into at LeMans…

    • Johannes275

      November 20, 2017 at 2:49 pm

      Risi fanboy detected.

    • David Chaste

      November 20, 2017 at 7:46 pm

      All for it. Go Risi

      And how is that bei g a fan boy? He made a careless move and barely paid for it

  6. JeffB

    November 20, 2017 at 3:02 pm

    Christmas comes early for Spencer Pumpelly.

    “Spencer Pumpelly – Gold to Silver”

    I’m going to form my own team just so I can sign him up to run with a Pro. Does anyone know a good trophy case builder?

  7. juneracer

    November 20, 2017 at 3:53 pm

    kind of surprised Pumpelly was given silver. didn’t the FIA learn from Segal. i see they still have Cosmo as a silver.

  8. tracer

    November 20, 2017 at 4:16 pm

    Johnny O and Spencer Pumpelly lead the sneaky silver class of 2018. Hope we see both at the sharp end of the GTD field next year.

    • Rory

      November 20, 2017 at 4:50 pm

      I think Johnny O’s downgrade is due to age hasn’t he just turned 55?

  9. Lex

    November 20, 2017 at 6:00 pm

    Somehow these Ams that dominated or been winning havent been upgraded. Yes you Paul Dalla Lana and Christina Nielsen. How was Phillippi a damn silver? Any race Ive seen him in hes dominated or been fighting for lead.

    • Steven

      November 20, 2017 at 8:29 pm

      Another is Katherine Legge. Nothing but good praise to her, but how is she a silver? She’s a seasoned veteran and has been in IndyCar and ChampCar before IMSA. Was very fast in the Deltawing. Then she also was fast in the Acura GT3. When I was at Road America. I asked many people how Legge/Lally combo was allowed in the GTD, now I know that she is only a silver which is a farce.

    • cdw328

      November 20, 2017 at 9:38 pm

      These are preliminary ratings. Results say Nielsen should be upgraded. As for PDL, he can only be Silver as he is 50+.

    • alric8

      December 14, 2017 at 4:59 pm

      Paul Dalla Lana is not of silver quality. You don’t get upgrading just for driving well: you actually have to outdo your rating a la Thomas Laurent to get an upgrade.

  10. David Chaste

    November 20, 2017 at 7:48 pm

    Jules Gounon and Conor dephilipi finally being upgraded could throw a wrench in Land motorsports plan to take over the Naec by storm next year.

  11. FLB

    November 21, 2017 at 7:36 am

    What is Lando Norris’s rating?

    • Travis McBee

      November 21, 2017 at 7:58 am

      Well Pietro Fittipaldi is Gold, so I’m going to assume that Lando is Gold or Platinum. I’d guess so seeing that they rated Alex Lynn a Platinum in his first WEC race back in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in IMSA