Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

35 Entries for CTSC at Sebring

35 cars on provisional entry list for Continental Tire Challenge at Sebring…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

Thirty five cars across two classes are set to take the green flag for the second round of the Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge season next week at Sebring, highlighted by returning winners and new machinery.

The number represents a slight drop off from the 40 cars that were entered for the season-opening race at Daytona in January, but matches the number of entries for Sebring last season.


Seventeen cars are entered for GS competition, up from nine in 2016, including the Daytona-winning duo of Trent Hindman and Cameron Cassels in the No. 12 Bodymotion Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport.

A pair of Ford Mustangs appear on the entry list, but in a departure from the norm, as both appear under the KohR Motorsports banner.

Daytona pole-winner Dean Martin is joined by Jack Roush Jr. for Sebring and beyond in the No. 59 entry, while the erstwhile Multimatic Motorsports duo of Scott Maxwell and Jade Buford will drive the No. 60 machine.

Most of the driver lineups are set, with only the seats alongside Cameron Lawrence in the No. 21 Muehlner Motorsports America Porsche and Chris Green in the No. 69 Motorsports In Action McLaren 570S GT4 currently listed as TBD.

Porsche makes up just under half of the field with eight entries for Sebring including three of the new-for-2017 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR’s, with one each coming from Team TGM, BGB, and RS1.

McLaren (5), Ford (2), and Aston Martin (2) make up the rest of the 17-car field in GS.

In ST, 18 cars appear on the entry list after 20 took part in Daytona. The Daytona-winning pair of Mat Pombo and Derek Jones returns behind the wheel of the No. 73 MINI, headlining a three-car assault by the MINI JCW Team squad for Sebring.

After running three cars in January at Daytona, Rebel Rock Racing has scaled back to a single Porsche Cayman for David Roberts and Dion von Moltke in Round 2, while the rest of the field is largely unchanged outside of a manufacturer switch from Murillo Racing.

After campaigning a Porsche to open the season, the duo of Christian Szymczak and Christopher Stone are listed in an MX-5 for Round 2.

As at Daytona, six different manufacturers are represented on the ST grid: Porsche (6), Mazda (4), MINI (3), BMW (3), Audi (1), and Nissan (1).

The two-hour Visit Sebring 120 Continental Tire Challenge race is set for Friday, March 17.

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.


More in Michelin Pilot Challenge