Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

McAleer Storms to Daytona Pole for RS1

RS1 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport on pole for four-hour season opener…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Stevan McAleer has claimed pole for Friday’s IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge season-opening BMW Endurance Challenge at Daytona International Speedway.

The RS1 driver took his No. 28 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport to a best lap of 1:52.157 to edge out the No. 59 KohR Motorsports Ford Mustang GT4 of Luca Mars by 0.038 seconds.

McAleer will pair up with Eric Filgueiras for the four-hour enduro, who won last year’s race at Daytona.

Ford NASCAR star Zane Smith qualified third in the No. 42 PF Racing Mustang, followed by the No. 72 Murllo Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4 of Kenny Murillo and Sean McAllister’s No. 39 CarBahn with Peregrine Racing Porsche, which completed the top-five.

Mat Pombo scored pole in the TCR ranks for LA Honda World Racing, meanwhile.

Pombo reeled off a best lap of 1:56.837 in the No. 37 Honda Civic Type R TCR to edge out the No. 5 KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR by 0.088 seconds.

Pombo, who broke the TCR track qualifying record will share driving duties with Ryan Eversley.

Chris Miller put the No. 17 Unitronic JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi RS 3 LMS TCR third on the class grid with a 1:56.961 lap time.

The BMW Endurance Challenge gets underway Friday at 1:45 p.m. ET with live coverage on Peacock and on for international viewers.

RESULTS: Qualifying

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge