Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Michelin Pilot Challenge Revealed; Two Classes in 2019

Ten-round schedule, two-class format for Michelin Pilot Challenge in 2019…

IMSA has revealed the new name and logo for the Michelin Pilot Challenge, which will feature a two-class format of GS and TCR machinery next year.

The French tire giant, which takes over from Continental as the entitlement sponsor of the production-based series, will feature an unchanged schedule of ten rounds for 2019.

Daytona International Speedway will again serve as the season-opener on Jan. 25, with the first of two four-hour endurance races alongside Watkins Glen International in late June.

Other highlights of the season include trips to the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Road America and WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, with all rounds supporting WeatherTech SportsCar Championship races.

As expected, the ST class has been dropped from the series, which will feature entirely global-spec machinery with GT4 and TCR cars.

In addition to the new entitlement partner and tire supplier, the Michelin Pilot Challenge will also introduce leader-light technology similar to that used in the WeatherTech Championship.

All series races will be televised on a tape-delayed basis on NBCSN as part of IMSA’s new, six-year television partnership with NBC Sports.

2019 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge Schedule:
Jan. 25 — Daytona International Speedway (4 hours)
March 15 — Sebring International Raceway 
May 4 — Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
June 29 — Watkins Glen International (4 hours)
July 6 — Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
July 20 — Lime Rock Park
Aug. 3 — Road America
Aug. 24 — Virginia International Raceway
Sept. 14 — WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
Oct. 11 — Road Atlanta

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in Michelin Pilot Challenge