Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Mosing, Foss Take Murillo’s First Win in Four Years at Lime Rock

Murillo Racing gives Mercedes-AMG first victory of Michelin Pilot Challenge season…

Photo: Rick Dole/IMSA

Murillo Racing claimed its first IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge victory with Mercedes-AMG GT4 machinery in Saturday’s Lime Rock 120.

Eric Foss drove the team’s No. 56 entry to its first series win in four years following a late-race charge to the front in the fast-paced two-hour contest.

He took over the lead with 21 minutes remaining after taking the final restart in third behind the No. 11 FCP Euro and No. 57 Winward Racing Mercedes entries of Michael Hurczyn and Alec Udell, respectively.

Foss crossed the line 9.295 seconds ahead of the pole-sitting No. 23 Notlad by RS1 Aston Martin Vantage GT4 of Stevan McAleer in second.

The No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport of Jan Heylen and Ryan Hardwick completed the GS and overall podium, rebounding from an accident in qualifying.

Foss shared top class honors with Jeff Mosing for Mercedes-AMG’s first series win of the season.

Hurczyn, who was on an alternate strategy, dropped back after attempting to stretch his fuel to a 1 hour and 18-minute stint in the FCP Euro Mercedes.

He was classified 14th overall and ninth in the GS class.

The No. 57 Winward Mercedes of Udell, meanwhile, spun and made contact with the barriers with 11 minutes to go, which did not bring out a late-race yellow.

Trent Hindman brought the No. 7 VOLT Racing with Archangel Aston Martin home in fourth, with Super GT star Sacha Fenestraz, in his Pilot Challenge debut, completing the top-five in the No. 14 Riley Motorsports Toyota GR Supra GT4.

Lewis, Hagler Extend TCR Points Lead With Win

Michael Lewis and Taylor Hagler scored their first class victory of the season in the No. 77 Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai Veloster N TCR, extending their points lead in the process.

Lewis jumped into the lead of the hard-fought TCR battle with 3 minutes to go and edged out the No. 5 KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR of Tim Lewis Jr. by 0.134 seconds.

Hagler earned her first career class win while it marked the first-ever podium finish for the Alfa.

The No. 27 Copeland Motorsports Hyundai Veloster N TCR of Tyler Maxson and Tyler Gonzalez completed the class podium in third.

RESULTS: Lime Rock 120

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge