Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

32 Entries for Laguna Seca in Sprint Cup Finale

Entry list released for penultimate round of WeatherTech Championship season; Sprint Cup title decider…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

A total of 32 cars are set for next weekend’s Monterey SportsCar Championship powered by McLaren, in the title-deciding round of the IMSA WeatherTech Sprint Cup.

Released by IMSA on Wednesday, the entry list features no major changes since the most recent IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship rounds at VIR and Road America.

Zach Robichon, who has claimed victories in two of the last three GT Daytona class races, heads into WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca with a one-point lead in the Sprint Cup standings over Meyer Shank Racing’s Trent Hindman and Mario Farnbacher.

Robichon will again be paired with Scott Hargrove in the Castrol-sponsored Porsche 911 GT3 R.

An error on the entry list initially showed Porsche Young Professional Matt Campbell, who joined the team at Road America in place of Hargrove.

Team manager Steve Bortolotti confirmed to Sportscar365 that Hargrove will remain in the car for the rest of the season.

Juncos Racing, as expected, is again absent in the DPi ranks for Laguna Seca, although expected to return for Motul Petit Le Mans, while Starworks Motorsport will again be a no-show in GT Daytona.

Christina Nielsen, who missed the VIR round also due to the Suzuka 10 Hours, meanwhile, will be back in the No. 57 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 Evo alongside Katherine Legge.

As expected, Lone Star Racing is not present with its Mercedes-AMG GT3, which completed its five-race program at VIR.

LMP2 sees Dalton Kellett back in the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca 07 Gibson, with James French continuing in the No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports Oreca after an initial one-off outing at Road America. 

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship