Connect with us


34 Cars Set for IMSA Sebring Test

Thirty four cars entered for IMSA-sanctioned test at Sebring…

Photo: Rick Dole/IMSA

Photo: Rick Dole/IMSA

A total of 34 cars are due to take part in next week’s IMSA-sanctioned test at Sebring International Raceway, on Feb. 23-24, in preparation for the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring in March.

The test is mandatory for at least one car/chassis from each manufacturer/constructor in the Prototype and GT Le Mans classes, for Balance of Performance purposes.

ENTRY LIST: Sebring Test

The P class has a 10-car entry, including Rolex 24 winners Jordan and Ricky Taylor in the No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPI-V.R.

The Taylor brothers will be joined by their new endurance racing teammate, Briton Alex Lynn, who replaces the newly retired Max Angelelli. Retired NASCAR superstar Jeff Gordon also was part of the Daytona-winning lineup.

Also entered in the P class are both Tequila Patrón ESM Nissan DPi entries. The team won last year at Sebring with drivers Pipo Derani, Scott Sharp, Johannes van Overbeek and Ed Brown sharing the same car.

This year, Derani and Sharp are sharing the team’s No. 2 entry with Ryan Dalziel, while Brown and van Overbeek are paired with FIA World Endurance Champion Brendon Hartley in the No. 22.

Of note, Olivier Pla is listed in the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Ligier JS P217 Gibson, with Marino Franchitti slated to test the No. 70 Mazda RT24-P. Both drivers have not yet been announced for the race.

There are eight GT Le Mans class entries for the test, including reigning Rolex 24 and 24 Hours of Le Mans champions Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais in the No. 66 Ford GT from Ford Chip Ganassi Racing; as well as 2016 Sebring GTLM winners Oliver Gavin, Tommy Milner and Marcel Fassler.

A 15-car GT Daytona class field is entered, which includes Daytona winners Carlos de Quesada and Daniel Morad in the No. 28 Alegra Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R. De Quesada and Morad will be joined for the test by Spencer Pumpelly, who played a pivotal coaching role for the team at Daytona.

A single Prototype Challenge class entry has been filed, the No. 20 Oreca FLM09 from BAR1 Motorsports for co-drivers Chapman Ducote and Gustavo Yacaman.

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.



  1. Olly

    February 15, 2017 at 2:59 pm

    I had a feeling Pla was gonna be in the PR1 Ligier for this test and hopefully the race. And Franchitti to Mazda, not surprising since he’s worked with them in the past. Nice nice.

    • Jack

      February 15, 2017 at 3:49 pm

      I’m not so sure about him, Marino that is, he hasn’t been putting in strong performance recently. He has been dropped by Ford let’s not forget.

      • Olly

        February 15, 2017 at 4:00 pm

        True, but Marino will probably be do better in a downforce car over a technical car. Same with Pla, cool that he’s in the Ford, but IMO he’s better in a Prototype.

        • Olly

          February 15, 2017 at 4:01 pm

          Mechanical not technical, sorry

  2. jason

    February 15, 2017 at 3:15 pm

    I think this test entry gives an indication of the full season entrants for the year.

    And it would be nice if there was just 1 full season LMPC 🙂

    • B8

      February 15, 2017 at 3:46 pm

      It doesn’t really. Like, there’s only 1 GTLM Porsche for example. I think you’re looking into it way too much yet.

    • Andy Flinn

      February 15, 2017 at 4:19 pm

      Jason, we won’t know until after Sebring.

      The #13 Rebellion LMP2? (Sebring? NAEC?)

      The #11 Grasser and #46 Ebimotors Lambos, and the #29 Land Audi are probably Sebring (maybe NAEC also) entries.

      The #16 Change Lambo, #33 Keating Mercedes and 991 TRG (Sebring or NEAC only?) Porsche are are all missing.

      Last I read the #23 AJR Audi, #27 Dream Lambo and #28 Allegra Porsche are all partial-season entries.

      I guess we’ll have to see.

      As far as PC goes, again, I don’t understand why we would wish for fewer entries. If there’s going to be a PC class this year, shouldn’t there be at least two entries for each race? The #38 Performance Tech car is also missing from the list. You can probably expect them to compete at Sebring and beyond, especially after their win at Daytona. They had a near flawless race at the Rolex24 so I think including them on the grid would be a good thing and probably a safe bet.

      • Jack

        February 15, 2017 at 4:46 pm

        13 is naec and most of the gtd cars will go back to Europe after Sebring. Some weren’t Daytona only.

  3. Luna

    February 15, 2017 at 5:03 pm

    Clown Racing still with its top driver DeGeorge

  4. tobinsmith

    February 15, 2017 at 9:35 pm

    50 cars and I’m coming back, first time in over 10 years. Can they hit 50?

    • Not Nick

      February 16, 2017 at 12:02 am

      That would be nice!

    • David Chaste

      February 16, 2017 at 12:26 am

      Not quantity, but quality. Even if this was the Sebring entry list at only 30 or so cars, it has quality in spades.

  5. David Chaste

    February 16, 2017 at 12:40 am

    Olivier Pla in the Ligier might make Tom Kimber Smith feel a bit uneasy. As the in-house hot-shoe, Tom has driven everything and won everywhere. So when the team feels they need to bring in Pla to dial in the car, that’s undermining Tom’s value a bit. I’m pretty sure Tom could figure out the car’s limits without Pla. Unless of course they are planning to drop one of their pay drivers and run the race with Kimber-Smith and Pla to go for a top finish, if Olivier Pla comes as a package deal with onroak trackside support, like Derani at ESM.

  6. David Chaste

    February 16, 2017 at 1:38 am

    Since this test session will be used for Bop adjustments, Stevenson and AJR might want to walk over to Land Motorsport to get them to keep their super silvers in check. If Jules Gounon and Connor Dephillipi start laying down laps times in the top 5 or top 10, the Audi will be severely restricted. That will in turn wrongly impact a true gentleman like Bill Sweedler who also drives an Audi.

    We saw that last year with Riberas and Farnbacher, Imsa clamped down on the Porsche and Cooper macneil protested since he was a true gentleman. Those 2 are now gold rated, but there’s plenty others.

    • Olly

      February 16, 2017 at 9:39 am

      Isn’t Mario still a Silver? Correct me if I’m wrong.

      • David Chaste

        February 16, 2017 at 7:38 pm

        Indeed he is.

  7. Asmat khan

    April 5, 2017 at 12:41 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in IWSC