Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

37 Entries for Road America

Five classes back in action for next weekend’s WeatherTech Championship round…

Photo: Gavin Baker/IMSA

A total of 37 entries are set for next weekend’s IMSA Fastlane Sportscar Weekend at Road America, marking the first race back with all five classes since the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen in June.

The entry list, released on Wednesday, features six DPi and LMP2 cars each, nine LMP3s, five GTD Pro and 11 GTD entries.

Among the notable changes include Tristan Nunez in the No. 11 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca 07 Gibson in place of Jonathan Bomarito.

Nunez, who remains a reserve driver with Action Express Racing following a mid-season driver change in the No. 31 Cadillac DPi-V.R, recently tested with the Bobby Oergel-led team at Road America.

Malthe Jakobsen, meanwhile, will replace Lance Willsey in the No. 33 Sean Creech Motorsport Ligier JS P320 Nissan, alongside full-season driver Joao Barbosa, while JDC-Miller Motorsports is set to field a LMP3 entry for Gerry Kraut and Scott Andrews.

The new JDC-Miller entry joins the previously confirmed driver lineup change at Performance Tech Motorsports, which sees James French replace Rasmus Lindh in the No. 38 Ligier.

NTE Sport will return to WeatherTech Championship competition with its Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo for Jaden Conwright and Marco Holzer, with Dani Juncadella rejoining Cooper MacNeil in the No. 79 WeatherTech Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo.

Of note, Hardpoint, Inception Racing and Alegra Motorsports are again not present, after missing the recent rounds at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and Lime Rock Park.

Road America will mark the final DPi, LMP2 and LMP3 races prior to October’s season-ending Motul Petit Le Mans.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship