Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

40 Entries for 6H Watkins Glen

Second-largest grid of season as all five classes return to action for Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

A total of 40 cars are set for next weekend’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen, in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s return to Watkins Glen International for the first time in two years.

Released on Wednesday, the entry list for the third leg of the Michelin Endurance Cup comprises of seven DPis, five LMP2 cars, nine LMP3 entries, five GT Le Mans machines and 14 GT Daytona entries.

It will be the first race since the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring in March where all five classes will be in action together.

As expected, the DPi class will see the return of the No. 48 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R for Jimmie Johnson, Kamui Kobayashi and Simon Pagenaud, along with several other third driver additions.

It includes Mike Conway back in the No. 31 AXR Cadillac as well as Jonathan Bomarito returning to the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P. 

Sebastien Bourdais will complete JDC-Miller Motorsports’ lineup, returning to the team for the first time since its victory at Sebring.

Both Acura ARX-05s from Wayne Taylor Racing and Meyer Shank Racing have opted for two-driver lineups, as well as the Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac driven by Renger van der Zande and Kevin Magnussen.

The five-strong LMP2 class has no driver lineup changes since Sebring other than the previously reported shakeup at Tower Motorsport by Starworks, which sees James French set to complete the Endurance Cup season.

LMP3 grows to a record nine-car class with the addition of entries from United Autosports and Dawson Racing, while Sean Creech Motorsport is still provisionally listed despite not having confirmed drivers for the remainder of the season.

Watkins Glen will mark the third points-paying round of the GTLM season, which will see BMW Team RLL remain in action as part of its Endurance Cup-only program.

The pair of BMW M8 GTEs will be driven by a trio of drivers each, compared to Corvette Racing’s decision to run with its full season two-driver lineups.

The Sebring class-winning trio of Cooper MacNeil, Matt Campbell and Mathieu Jaminet return to the Proton Competition-run WeatherTech Racing Porsche 911 RSR-19, meanwhile.

Three-driver lineups are mandatory in GTD, which has Andrew Davis listed in the solo Team Hardpoint EBM Porsche 911 GT3 R and Maro Engel completing SunEnergy1 Racing’s lineup in its Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo.

Jan Heylen has been confirmed as the third driver in the No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche, leaving Ryan Hardwick out of the car altogether after being replaced by Trent Hindman in the team’s full-season lineup.

CarBahn with Peregrine Racing, which had announced a WeatherTech Sprint Cup-only effort, has entered its Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo for Richard Heistand, Jeff Westphal and Tyler McQuarrie in what will mark the team’s Endurance Cup debut.

The six-hour race is scheduled for June 27.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship