Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Acura Reveals Shank Liveries, Driver Pairings

Acura confirms Shank liveries, driver pairings for IMSA season…

Image: Acura

Image: Acura

Acura has unveiled the race liveries for the pair of Michael Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 cars, as well as confirming the driver pairings for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season, including the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Andy Lally and Katherine Legge will pilot the No. 93 car in the 12-round championship and will be joined by Mark Wilkins for the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup races and IndyCar star Graham Rahal for Daytona.

The No. 86 Acura, meanwhile, will see Ozz Negri and Jeff Segal team up for the season, with Tom Dyer in the four endurance races and Ryan Hunter-Reay completing the lineup for Daytona.

The pair of Acuras will feature a striking “mirror image” black, grey and white graphics.

The No. 86 car, commemorating Acura’s 30th anniversary since its establishment in 1986, will have a black nose, fading to a grey cross hatch pattern before giving way to white at the rear.

The No. 93 entry, representing 1993, the year HPD was founded, will reverse the color pattern, with a white front end transitioning to a black rear deck.

“The debut of the Acura NSX GT3 at the prestigious Rolex 24 will mark the return of the Acura brand to IMSA sports car competition,” said Art St. Cyr, president of Honda Performance Development and Acura Motorsports.

“We’ve aimed to race the NSX in North America since the car was just a sketch on paper, and we couldn’t be more excited than to debut at Daytona.”

All eight drivers will be on hand at next month’s Roar Before the Rolex 24, ahead of the car’s competition debut in the Rolex 24 on Jan. 28-29.

Image: Acura

Image: Acura

Image: Acura

Image: Acura

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship