Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

AIM Vasser Sullivan, Lexus Win Sprint Cup Title

AVS Autosport, Hawksworth, Telitz, Lexus scoop WeatherTech Sprint Cup title…

Photo: IMSA

AIM Vasser Sullivan, drivers Jack Hawksworth and Aaron Telitz and Lexus have won the 2020 IMSA WeatherTech Sprint Cup title following Sunday’s season-ending round at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

The No. 14 Lexus RC F GT3 crew, which entered the weekend with a 19-point, needed to only start the two-hour and 40-minute race to be crowned champions.

The driving duo scored three wins and four podium positions in sprint races this season, including victories at Daytona International Speedway, Sebring International Raceway and Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Hawksworth and Telitz endured a tough race at Laguna Seca, finishing 11th in class in the caution-free race after starting from near the rear of the field due to a puncture sustained in qualifying.

It marked the first WeatherTech Championship title for Lexus, which also remains in contention for the season-long GTD manufacturer’s title heading into next month’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

The Sprint Cup, which featured in seven WeatherTech Championship GTD races this year, was won by Zach Robichon, Meyer Shank Racing and Porsche in its debut season in 2019

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship