Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Black Swan Returns; 37 Entries for The Glen

Black Swan Racing back on track for Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Black Swan Racing will make its return to IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship competition, as part of a 37-car entry list for next weekend’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen.

The Tim Pappas-owned squad will field a Porsche 911 GT3 R for Marc Miller, Marco Seefried and Porsche factory driver Dirk Werner in the GT Daytona class for the third round of the Michelin Endurance Cup.

Originally slated to contest all four Endurance Cup rounds, Black Swan missed the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring due to Pappas’ injuries sustained at the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

Pappas revealed to Sportscar365 plans for the team to return with a revised driver lineup as the former American Le Mans Series class champion continues his recovery.

Among other additions to the GTD ranks include confirmation of the No. 47 PPM Lamborghini Huracan GT3 for Brandon Gdovic, Don Yount and a to-be-announced third driver, while Montaplast by Land Motorsport returns to action with its Audi R8 LMS Evo. 

Daniel Morad is listed in both the Land and No. 8 Starworks Motorsport Audis as a third driver.

The entire GTD field features three-driver lineups, per IMSA’s new-for-2019 rule for the Endurance Cup races in LMP2 and GTD, while all GT Le Mans teams have remained with its season-long two-driver crews.

DPi features a mix of two and three-driver squads, with Mike Conway set for his first start of the season in the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, after visa issues forced him out of the seat at Daytona.

Conway missed Sebring due to his Toyota LMP1 drive taking priority that weekend and was replaced by Brendon Hartley.

Eric Curran, meanwhile, returns to the sister Action Express Racing-run No. 31 Whelen Cadillac DPi next weekend.

Other third driver additions in the class include Romain Dumas at CORE autosport, Chris Miller and Juan Piedrahita at JDC-Miller Motorsports and Olivier Pla and Timo Bernhard at Team Joest.

Performance Tech Motorsports and PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports again make up the two-car LMP2 field, which returns to action for the first time since Mid-Ohio.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship