Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

DragonSpeed Loses LMP2 Win in Drive-Time Infraction

LMP2 results decided post-race as Henrik Hedman fails to complete minimum drive time…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

DragonSpeed has been stripped of its LMP2 class victory in Saturday’s Cadillac Grand Prix of Sebring due to a drive-time infraction.

The No. 81 Oreca 07 Gibson of Gustavo Menezes crossed the line 12 seconds ahead of the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports entry, which was declared as class winners due to Menezes’ co-driver Henrik Hedman not meeting the minimum drive time of 45 minutes.

It gave top class honors to Patrick Kelly and Spencer Pigot, in his LMP2 debut.

Per IMSA, Menezes and Hedman have been moved to the rear of the LMP2 results, finishing fifth in class.

Timing and scoring data shows Hedman pitted on Lap 21, two seconds short of the minimum time according to the Elton Julian-led team.

The two cars enjoyed a race-long battle following an impressive opening stint by Bronze-rated driver Kelly, who was making his second LMP2 start.

It promoted the No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports entry of Cameron Cassels and Kyle Masson to second in class, with the No. 18 Era Motorsport Oreca completing the LMP2 podium in the category’s first race since the Rolex 24 at Daytona in January.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship