Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Ganassi 1-2 in Roar First Friday Practice

Dixon, Hand take Riley-Fords to top in first Roar session…

Photo: Darren Pierson

Photo: Darren Pierson

Chip Ganassi Racing’s pair of Riley-Fords led the way in the first practice session for the Roar Before the Rolex 24, a one hour and 45-minute session held under overcast skies and low 50 degree temperatures at Daytona International Speedway.

Scott Dixon, part of CGR’s “all-star” No. 02 car, posted a best time of 1:39.406. New CGR recruit Joey Hand was second in the No. 01 at 1:39.505.

The 2014 Roar Friday practice leaders Action Express Racing were third with its No. 5 Corvette DP, with Ozz Negri turning in the fourth fastest time in the No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda at 1:39.656. Wayne Taylor Racing was fifth.

Bruno Junqueira led the Prototype Challenge contingent in the No. 11 RSR Racing Oreca FLM09 at 1:42.699.

In the GT ranks, Pedro Lamy took the No. 98 Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin Vantage GTE to 1:44.414 in GT Le Mans.

The two factory Porsche North America 911 RSRs were next with the Team Falken Tire Porsche fourth and the No. 62 Risi Competizione Ferrari F458 Italia fifth; the top five were separated by just 0.374 of a second.

Philipp Eng, the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup ace, clocked in at 1:47.753 to lead GT Daytona in the Brumos Racing-liveried No. 58 Dempsey/Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT America.

The No. 22 Alex Job Racing Porsche 911 GT America was second with the single Flying Lizard Audi R8 MS third.

Four red flags interrupted the session, including at least two for debris at the Bus Stop chicane. There was an additional red flag for oil on track.

The second session occurs from 2:55 to 5:25 p.m. ET and local time.

RESULTS: Friday Test Session 1

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony


More in WeatherTech Championship