Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Jarvis Mazda Stretches Lead in Second Hour

Mazda Motorsports extends lead through pit stops as Whelen Cadillac yields second…

Photo: IMSA

Oliver Jarvis stretched out his lead for Mazda Team Joest in the second hour of the Rolex 24 at Daytona as Whelen Engineering Racing yielded second outright with an unscheduled pit stop.

Jarvis started out the second hour in the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P with a gap of 1.4 seconds to Felipe Nasr’s No. 31 Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, moving that out to a 16-second lead by the end of the second hour.

Nasr made an extra stop three laps into his fourth stint to remove debris out of the air-duct, with Juan Pablo Montoya taking over second outright at the wheel of the No. 6 Team Penske Acura ARX-05.

The No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac has been elevated to third courtesy of a pass on Ricky Taylor’s No. 7 Acura while the pair were fighting in traffic, with Nasr dropping to the back of the eight-car DPi field.

Porsche GT Team runs nose-to-tail in GT Le Mans with the No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR of Nick Tandy ahead of the sister No. 912 car of Laurens Vanthoor.

BMW Team RLL’s No. 25 BMW M8 GTE which had been running third in GTLM in the hands of Philipp Eng lost a chunk of time with a front-right wheel nut issue in its third stop.

The team lost more than 30 seconds in the pits as Eng rejoined seventh in the seven-car class.

John Edwards sits third aboard the No. 24 BMW ahead of Jordan Taylor in the No. 3 Corvette C8.R and the No. 62 Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GTE Evo in fifth in GTLM.

Ben Keating handed the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca 07 Gibson over to Simon Trummer before the end of the second hour, with Trummer holding a 16 second lead in the LMP2 class.

Pfaff Motorsports’ No. 9 Porsche 911 GT3 R remains at the sharp end of the GT Daytona class after Zacharie Robichon made way for Dennis Olsen behind the wheel.

Slade Perrins is an Australian-based reporter for Sportscar365. Perrins won the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars 'Young Gun Award' for journalism for his work with

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship