Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

JDC-Miller Tops Roar Session 3

Tristan Vautier keeps Cadillac at the top in Roar Before the 24 Session 3…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Tristan Vautier put JDC-Miller Motorsports at the top of the speed charts in Session 3 of the Roar Before the Rolex 24, the third different Cadillac DPi-V.R entry to take top honors so far.

Vautier was 0.289 seconds clear of second place Oliver Jarvis for Mazda, the best showing of the Roar to date for the lone Mazda RT24-P in the field.

Pipo Derani had the third fastest time for Action Express Racing’s No. 31 entry, followed by Chip Ganassi Racing’s Renger van der Zande, who led much of the session until being jumped in the final minutes.

Charles Milesi took his turn at the top of the LMP2 leaderboard for Racing Team Nederland with a best lap of 1:37.366, backing up the squad’s impressive session-topping pace from Session 2 on Friday.

Tristan Nunez was second fastest but 0.466 seconds off of the pace-setting time for WIN Autosport with Nico Lapierre third in LMP2 for PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports. 2020 NTT IndyCar Series Rookie of the Year Rinus VeeKay was fourth in the No. 81 entry from DragonSpeed.

Newly-minted Corvette Racing driver Nick Tandy was the fasted GT Le Mans driver of the session, with his best lap time of 1:45.458 in the No. 4 Chevrolet Corvette C8.R clocking in faster than the entire LMP3 field.

Jordan Taylor in the sister No. 3 Corvette and Timo Glock in the No. 25 BMW Team RLL entry completed the top three in GTLM, but were separated from Tandy by the top four LMP3 runners.

The third-tier prototype class was led by Colin Braun of CORE autosport with the sister Riley Motorsports Ligier JS P320 Nissans of Jeroen Bleekemolen and Oliver Askew rounding out the top three.

The top Duqueine D08 Nissan runner was Kenton Koch in fourth in the No. 6 entry for Muehlner Motorsports.

Ferrari headed up the GT Daytona standings in Session 3 courtesy of a strong lap from factory ace Daniel Serra in the No. 21 Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo 2020 for AF Corse.

Laurens Vanthoor was second in a Porsche 911 GT3 R for Pfaff Motorsports, while GRT Grasser Racing Team’s Rolf Ineichen was third in the No. 111 Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo.

The session was halted by a brief red flag for the 75 SunEnergy1 Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo of Kenny Habul which went off track at Turn 2 with around 22 minutes remaining.

A flurry of fast times came in just after the track went green again for the final 15 minutes, most notably in the DPi and LMP2 classes.

The WeatherTech Championship cars return to the track this afternoon for a qualifying session that will set the grid for Sunday’s Motul Pole Award 100 qualifying race, which will in turn set the starting grid for next week’s Rolex 24 at Daytona.

RESULTS: Session 3

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship