Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Lux Joins 8Star for Sebring

Eric Lux joins Tom Kimber-Smith, Mike Marsal for Twelve Hours of Sebring…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

Eric Lux will complete 8Star Motorsports’ lineup for next month’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, it was confirmed Thursday.

The 25-year-old American driver, who kicked off the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship in one of Starworks Motorsport’s Oreca FLM09s, has moved to the Enzo Potolicchio-owned squad, which finished second in the Prototype Challenge class in Daytona.

Tom Kimber-Smith and Mike Marsal, who teamed with Potolicchio and Rob Huff for the podium last month, round out the driving force in the No. 25 Oreca FLM09.

“The team’s second place in the Daytona 24 Hours caught the attention of many and I believe that 8Star will continue to be a championship contender throughout the season,” Lux said. “I finished third at Sebring in 2012 and 2013 and, while podiums are always welcome, we compete to win.

“I shared the third place in 2013 with Tom and I have achieved multiple podiums and race wins with Mike so I believe 8Star can go for the victory with this driver line-up.”

Both Lux and Kimber-Smith are handling driving duties of the car this week at Sebring, as the team prepares for its first 12-hour race.

“It’s great to be going to Sebring, particularly after achieving such a fantastic result in the 24 Hours of Daytona,” Kimber-Smith said. “Unfortunately, Enzo has decided to step down for the race and focus more on his role as Team CEO.

“Of course, this left a seat open, which will be taken up by Eric Lux. I have driven with Eric on a couple of occasions over the last year and it was actually at Sebring that we achieved our third place in LMP2, so it’s great to have him aboard.”

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship