Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Plumb Holds On for First Win for TGM, Mercedes-AMG

Hugh Plumb gives Team TGM, Mercedes-AMG GT4 maiden win in Lime Rock…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Hugh Plumb held on to claim a maiden victory for Team TGM and Mercedes-AMG in Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge competition in Saturday’s Lime Rock Park 120.

Plumb took his No. 46 Mercedes-AMG GT4 to a 1.879-second win, following a race-long fight between the Mercedes and eventual third place-finishing No. 28 RS1 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR of Dillon Machavern and pole-sitter Spencer Pumpelly.

Pumpelly led the opening stages, with the lead swapping hands during their one-and-only round of pit stops while under full course caution with 1 hour and 10 minutes to go.

Plumb assumed the lead on Lap 61 when the No. 92 Ramsey Racing Mercedes of Alexandre Premat pitted after electing to stay out while under the yellow and briefly take over the top spot, and held on from there.

It marked the first victory for the Ted Giovanis-owned operation and first for the Mercedes-AMG GT4 in North American competition.

Plumb shared driving duties with Owen Trinkler. 

A late-race charge by Indy Dontje was rewarded with a second-place finish for he and Bryce Ward in the No. 57 Winward Racing Mercedes, with Machavern and Pumpelly fading to third due to the final-lap pass.

The No. 76 Compass Racing McLaren 570S GT4 was fourth, with Murillo Racing making it three Mercedes in the top-five, in a banner race for the German manufacturer.

Simpson, Johnson Win TCR in Photo Finish 

Stephen Simpson and Michael Johnson claimed their first career Continental Tire Challenge victory in a thrilling photo finish in TCR.

Simpson, in the No. 54 JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi RS 3 LMS TCR, out-dueled the similarly prepared No. 12 Racing Audi of Kenton Koch for top class honors, after the two exchanged the class lead on the closing laps.

In a mirror image to the previous lap, the South African powered his way past Koch on the front stretch for the win. 

The margin of victory was just 0.066 seconds. 

Kuno Wittmer and Rodrigo Sales completed the TCR podium in third in their No. 74 Compass Racing Audi.

ST, meanwhile, saw the No. 73 MINI JCW of Mat Pombo and Mike LaMarra claim their second class victory of the season.

Pombo held off the No. 81 BimmerWorld BMW 328i of Devin Jones, with the sister No. 52 MINI completing the class podium.

RESULTS: Lime Rock Park 120

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in WeatherTech Championship