Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

PR1/Mathiasen Confirms McMurry, Aubry for Oreca LMP2

Matt McMurry, Gabriel Aubry confirmed in PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca 07 Gibson for season…

Photo: MPS Agency

PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports has confirmed Matt McMurry and Gabriel Aubry for its Oreca 07 Gibson LMP2 entry in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship next year.

The California-based team’s revamped effort comes after a single-year partnership with AFS Racing and drivers Sebastian Saavedra and Gustavo Yacaman, which has come to an end.

McMurry, the youngest-ever driver to start the 24 Hours of Le Mans, will share the wheel of French rising star Aubry for the entire eight-round LMP2 season, which kicks off with next month’s season-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Drivers for the two remaining seats for Daytona have yet to be announced.

“We are very happy to be able to announce that these two young guns will be racing with us this season,” said team principal Bobby Oergel.

“They are no doubt two of the top up and coming guys out there and we have no doubt that with them we can go fight for the Rolex 24 win, and the championship.”

The 21-year-old McMurry took part in a reduced WeatherTech Championship schedule with Spirit of Daytona this year, following budget issues associated with the team’s Cadillac DPi-V.R effort.

“I’m excited for the opportunity to continue to prove myself in the prototype ranks and really appreciate the call up from Bobby and the team’s supporters,” McMurry said.

“Daytona is always a great way to start the season. The drivers present are so strong and I can’t wait to take on the challenge.”

Aubrey, who currently leads the LMP2 standings in the FIA World Endurance Championship with Jackie Chan DC Racing, will complete double-duty between the two program for the remainder of the 2018-19 WEC season.

The new program will mark the 20-year-old’s IMSA debut.

“I am delighted to start a new adventure in the US, and to join a great team as PR1,” Aubry said. “I am looking forward to race and compete in this new environment.

“The championship will take us to legendary tracks to which I will have to quickly adapt.

PR1/Mathiasen is the first LMP2 team to officially confirm its lineup, with Performance Tech Motorsports, the only other expected full-season entry in the newly spun-off class, finalizing the driving squad for its Oreca entry.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship