Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Six Rolex 24 Legends Named Grand Marshals

Andretti, Haywood, Pruett, Rahal, Roush, Taylor named Rolex 24 grand marshals…

Photo: IMSA

Six of the most iconic drivers in the history of the Rolex 24 at Daytona will serve as grand marshals of the 60th anniversary of the around-the clock classic on Saturday Jan. 29.

Mario Andretti, Hurley Haywood, Scott Pruett, Bobby Rahal, Jack Roush and Wayne Taylor – all of whom tasted victory in the Rolex 24 during different eras over the last six decade – will give the 61-car field the command to “start engines” to open the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season.

Haywood and Pruett lead the way with five overall Rolex 24 victories from behind the wheel while Roush reeled off ten straight triumphs as an owner.

Taylor, a two-time winner as a driver in the Rolex 24, will go for an unprecedented, record fourth consecutive triumph and fifth overall as an owner in next weekend’s race.

Andretti and Rahal both recorded an overall Rolex 24 win as a driver.

“What a privilege it is to have these six racing legends with us for our 60th Anniversary Rolex 24 at Daytona,” said Daytona International Speedway President Frank Kelleher.

“Our fans will be able to see them up close and relive their incredible success here.

“It’s going to be a celebration of 60 years of memorable, iconic moments, and the then once the green flag falls, a continuation of a rich legacy at The World Center of Racing.”

The legends will be recognized in pre-race ceremonies and will also participate in Saturday morning’s driver autograph session inside the UNOH Fanzone.

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship