Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Taylor, Acura Continue to Lead Way at Laguna Seca

Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-05 quickest again in second practice session…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

The No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-05 continued to lead the way at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, with Ricky Taylor quickest again in the second practice session of the weekend.

Taylor reeled off a best lap of 1:193 late in Saturday morning’s session to edge out the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R of Sebastien Bourdais by 0.117 seconds.

Oliver Jarvis ended the session third in class in the No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura DPi followed by the DPi championship-leading No. 02 CGR Cadillac of Alex Lynn and Pipo Derani’s No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac in fifth.

The No. 5 JDC-Miller Motorsports Cadillac brought up the rear, more than 1.2 seconds behind Taylor’s pace-setting time.

The majority of the leading DPi times were all set in the closing minutes of the session with drivers on qualifying simulation laps.

LMP2 was topped by the No. 11 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca 07 Gibson of Jonathan Bomarito, who outpaced the No. 81 DragonSpeed entry of Juan Pablo Montoya by 0.206 seconds.

Louis Deletraz was third in class in the Tower Motorsport entry, which was involved in a three-car incident that brought out the session’s only red flag.

Deletraz’s co-driver John Farano went off-course in Turn 6, with both the No. 60 MSR Acura DPi of Oliver Jarvis and the Ryan Hardwick-driven No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R also caught up.

However, none of the cars sustained any significant damage.

Mercedes-AMG factory driver Dani Juncadella put in a late flyer to go quickest in GTD Pro, meanwhile.

Juncadella’s No. 79 WeatherTech Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo ended up ahead of the No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports Porsche of Mathieu Jaminet and Jack Hawksworth’s No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 in second and third, respectively.

Jan Heylen paced GTD in the Wright Porsche, which was quickest overall amongst the production-based machinery until the final 15 minutes.

The No. 12 Vasser Sullivan Lexus of Frankie Montecalvo ended up second quickest in class, followed by the No. 57 Winward Racing Mercedes.

Qualifying gets underway at 12:50 p.m. PT (3:50 p.m. ET) with live coverage on

RESULTS: Practice 2

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship