Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Tincknell, Bomarito, Pla Win 6H Watkins Glen

Tincknell, Bomarito, Pla lead Team Joest 1-2 in Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

An impressive late-race run by Harry Tincknell has helped deliver Mazda Team Joest its maiden win in IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship competition in the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen.

Acura Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya and Dane Cameron, meanwhile, have taken over the DPi points lead with a third place finish on Sunday.

Tincknell took his No. 55 Mazda RT24-P to a narrow 0.353-second victory over the team’s sister No. 77 entry, following a late-race bodywork issue for Tincknell’s car that slowed the pace and locked in the finishing order by team orders.

While the pair of Mazda DPis led the third round of the Michelin Endurance Cup from the start, a short-fill put the No. 6 Penske Acura ARX-05 of Montoya out front on the final restart with 1 hour and 7 minutes to go.

Montoya ultimately lost the lead to Tincknell through a forceful move with 43 minutes to go and extended his lead through the final round of pit stops ten minutes later.

Tincknell shared top honors with Jonathan Bomarito and Olivier Pla.

It also marked the first win for the Multimatic-built, AER-tuned engined DPi in the series.

Montoya and co-driver Cameron now hold a 1-point lead over Whelen Engineering Racing’s Pipo Derani and Felipe Nasr, who along with Eric Curran, finished seventh after a disastrous start to their race.

A left-rear puncture caused by debris forced Nasr off track early in the opening hour that ultimately put the Action Express Racing-run Cadillac DPi-V.R two laps down.

The sister No. 5 Cadillac DPi encountered bodywork issues and finished sixth. 

Renger van der Zande and Jordan Taylor were the best-placed Cadillac DPi in fourth, although their Wayne Taylor Racing entry was unable to match the pace of the Mazdas or Acuras.

The No. 7 Penske Acura DPi of Helio Castroneves and Ricky Taylor completed the top-five.

It came after spin by the Brazilian after contact with the eventual LMP2 class-winning No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca 07 Gibson of Matt McMurry with two-and-a-half hours to go.

McMurry and co-drivers Gabriel Aubry and Eric Lux came home 10th overall.

The No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports Oreca, the only other car in the LMP2 class, was classified 30th after multiple issues.

RESULTS: Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship