Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

WeatherTech Mercedes-AMG Brought Back for Sebring

Cooper MacNeil to perform GTD Pro double-duty at Sebring with No. 97 Mercedes-AMG added…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

WeatherTech Racing will field a pair of cars in the GTD Pro class at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring after confirming the addition of its No. 97 Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo for the race this month.

Mercedes-AMG factory drivers Maro Engel and Jules Gounon have been recruited to drive with WeatherTech driver Cooper MacNeil for round two of the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup on March 16-19.

Engel, Gounon, MacNeil and Daniel Juncadella tackled the Rolex 24 at Daytona in January but retired due to an overheating issue.

MacNeil is aiming to maximize his chances of defending his 2021 victory in the top GT class at Sebring, by getting behind the wheel of both the Mercedes-AMG and the full-season No. 79 WeatherTech Porsche 911 GT3 R that is also run by Proton Competition.

“We are coming into the event as the defending race winners from last year,” said MacNeil, who is sharing the Porsche with Julian Andlauer and Alessio Picariello.

“We had a solid run going in the No. 97 Mercedes at the Rolex 24 until we had the hose issue just after taking the overall lead in the GTD Pro Class. Sebring will have a few less cars, but the competition level will be just as high.

“Sebring is probably the track I have the most laps at besides Road America. It has a lot of history and to win there twice is huge. With Maro and Jules we have a great chance at getting a third win.”

WeatherTech Racing’s No. 97 Mercedes-AMG will be supported by Mercedes-Benz of Billings, Montana.

The team ran a pair of Mercedes-AMGs at Daytona, but its Sebring entry will concentrate on two cars in total.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship