Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

WTR’s 2020 Lineup to be Announced in “Coming Days”

Ryan Briscoe, Renger van der Zande tipped as WTR’s 2020 full-season drivers…

Photo: Peter Burke/IMSA

Wayne Taylor Racing’s lineup for its Cadillac DPi-V.R is set to be announce in the “coming days” according to team owner Wayne Taylor.

The statement from the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship-winning squad comes in the wake of Jordan Taylor’s formal exit from the team, to Corvette Racing for 2020, leaving at least one empty seat to take up in the Konica Minolta-sponsored DPi contender.

“I want to congratulate Jordan on being named a factory driver for Chevrolet and Corvette Racing,” Wayne Taylor said in a statement.

“As a father, I can’t express how proud I am to have both my sons in factory rides and, even though they are no longer with Wayne Taylor Racing, I can only wish them well.

“Our new driver lineup for the 2020 season will be announced in the coming days.”

Toyota LMP1 ace Kamui Kobayashi is so WTR’s only announced driver for 2020, with the Japanese star set to defend his Rolex 24 at Daytona victory in the Dallara-built prototype.

While not yet announced, Sportscar365 understands that deals have also been reached with Ford GT refugees Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon, with Briscoe in a full-season role and Dixon for the Michelin Endurance Cup races.

Despite some initial uncertainty, Renger van der Zande is expected to remain with the team for a third consecutive year.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship