Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Kujala, Liddy Score Laguna Seca Overall Poles

O’Gara/Change/USRT Lamborghini quickest overall in opening qualifying session of season…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Patrick Kujala and Patrick Liddy have scored overall pole positions for this weekend’s pair of Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America season-opening races at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Kujala will start this afternoon’s Race 1 from the top spot, thanks to a 1:23.745 lap time recorded in the No. 50 O’Gara Motorsport/Change Racing/USRT Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO2 during the 15-minute session.

The former Lamborghini World Final winner edged out the No. 1 Wayne Taylor Racing Lamborghini of Danny Formal by 0.251 seconds with Dream Racing’s Edoardo Liberati qualifying third overall and in the Pro class.

Reigning Pro class champion Richard Antinucci scored Pro-Am class pole for Race 1 in his No. 21 Dream Racing entry that he shares with Justin Price, while Pro-Am driver Liddy took his O’Gara/Change/USRT entry to the top spot overall in Q2, also claiming class honors in the process.

It came moments after the Pro class pole-sitter Loris Spinelli spun off course in Turn 7 with less than three minutes left on the clock.

Kyle Marcelli qualified second in Pro for Race 2, followed by Liberati, who is driving solo in his Dream Racing entry.

Am class pole honors went to Martin Fuentes (Race 1) and Nikko Reger (Race 2) while Tyler Hoffman (Race 1) and Slade Stewart (Race 2) will start from their respective poles in LB Cup.

Race 1 gets underway at 1:50 p.m. PT (4:50 p.m. ET) with live coverage on Peacock, and the Lamborghini Squadra Corse website.

RESULTS: Qualifying 1 / Qualifying 2

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA