Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Marcelli, Formal Claim Laguna Race 2 Win

Kyle Marcelli, Danny Formal claim victory in second Super Trofeo race of weekend…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Kyle Marcelli and Danny Formal claimed their third Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America victory in the last four races following a commanding run in the second round of the weekend at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Marcelli drove the No. 1 Prestige Performance by Wayne Taylor Racing Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo Evo to a 11.306-second win over Race 1 winner Richard Antinucci in Sunday’s 50-minute contest, which ran caution-free.

Having started on pole, Formal stretched out into an early lead over the No. 6 O’Gara Motorsport/US RaceTronics Lamborghini of Jacob Eidson, who capitalized on a mistake by Richard Antinucci after driving off-course at the start.

Antinucci managed to retake second through traffic on Lap 11 and solidified his position through the round of mid-race pit stops.

Eidson and Steven Aghakhani completed the overall and Pro class podium in third ahead of the No. 16 Change Racing entry of Stevan McAleer and Jeroen Mul.

Pro-Am class honors went to the No. 46 Precision Performance Motorsports entry of Bryan Ortiz and Brandon Gdovic while Luke Berkeley completed a sweep of the weekend in the Am class in his No. 23 Dream Racing Lamborghini.

It marked Ortiz and Gdovic’s fifth class win of the season, with 17-year-old Berkeley extending his class points lead.

John Hennessy, meanwhile, came out on top in LB Cup in his No. 33 O’Gara/USRT entry.


John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA