Connect with us

Asian Le Mans Series

Asian LMS Expands to Five Rounds in 2017/2018

Asian LMS expands into five-round championship next season…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

The Asian Le Mans Series will expand into a five-round championship next season, with the addition of a second race in China, following the announcement of its 2017/2018 schedule on Saturday.

The Zhejiang Circuit will kick off the 2017/2018 season, with the new 1.9-mile circuit, located near Hangzhou, set to welcome ACO-style multi-class sports car racing on either the first or second weekend of October.

Return visits are planned for all of the races on this season’s calendar, with Zhuhai (China), Fuji (Japan), Buriram (Thailand) and Sepang (Malaysia) also remaining on the same weekends as 2016/2017.

The Asian Le Mans Series Sprint Cup, meanwhile, will also expand for next year, with four rounds scheduled, again all at Sepang. The summer series begins in April and runs through August, with the championship featuring separate Pro-Am and Am classifications.

A newly announced iniaitive, the Asian Le Mans LMP3 Challenge, will combine both the Sprint and Endurance series for a nine-event, 13-race championship with overall driver and team classifications for the entry level prototype category.

2017/2018 Asian Le Mans Series Schedule:

Oct. 5-7/13-15 – Zhejiang
Oct. 27-29 – Zhuhai
Dec. 1-3 – Fuji
Jan. 5-7 – Buriram
Jan. 17-21 – Sepang

2017 Asian Le Mans Series Sprint Schedule:

April 7-9 – Sepang
May 5-7 – Sepang
July 21-23 – Sepang
Aug. 18-20 – Sepang

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Asian Le Mans Series