Connect with us

Asian Le Mans Series

LMP2 Champions Included in Algarve Pro Asian Lineup

Reigning Asian and European LMP2 champions join APR for 2018-19…

Photo: MPS Agency

Algarve Pro Racing has finalized its driver lineup for the 2018-19 Asian Le Mans Series which includes two reigning LMP2 champions.

European Le Mans Series champion Andrea Pizzitola, defending Asian champion Harrison Newey and ELMS regular Ate de Jong will co-drive a Ligier JS P2 Judd entered by the Portugal-based team.

Pizzitola, who clinched the ELMS drivers’ title in a G-Drive Racing Oreca 07 Gibson with Roman Rusinov, returns to the team with which he finished second in the 2016-17 Asian LMS standings.

“I’m really happy and excited to be re-joining Algarve Pro Racing, as I have learned a lot during my time with the team and it feels like a second home,” said the Frenchman.

“I have known Ate for three years now and I have seen him grow in confidence, so I’m sure he will do good things in the Asian LMS. I also know Harrison and it’s clear that he’s a nice guy and a very fast racing driver after competing against him in the ELMS.”

Newey clinched last season’s Asian LMP2 title by winning three out of four races with Jackie Chan DC Racing x Jota Sport team-mates Thomas Laurent and Stephane Richelmi.

The 20-year-old Englishman went on to sign for Algarve Pro Racing in the ELMS, where he drove the team’s APR Rebellion-entered Oreca.

De Jong, meanwhile, was part of Algarve Pro’s sister ELMS crew and returns to the Asian series having won last season’s Gentleman’s Trophy. 

The Pro-class entry joins Algarve Pro’s already-announced Am category Ligier which will be driven by Chris McMurry, Anders Fjordbach and Mark Patterson.

The four-round Asian Le Mans Series gets underway with the 4 Hours of Shanghai on Nov. 25.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Asian Le Mans Series