Connect with us

European Le Mans Series

DragonSpeed Confirms Unchanged LMP2 Lineup

DragonSpeed confirms LMP2 return with Hedman, Hanley, Lapierre…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

DragonSpeed has confirmed it will run an unchanged lineup in its LMP2 program this season, shortly after finalizing its LMP1 drivers on Sunday.

Henrik Hedman, Nicolas Lapierre and Ben Hanley will return to the team’s Oreca 07 Gibson for the full European Le Mans Series.

While the crew failed to win a race last year, the No. 21 Oreca was on pole for three of the six races with Lapierre frequently the quickest driver in qualifying.

Hedman and Lapierre will combine their LMP2 return with competing in the team’s LMP1 program, in which they will drive a Gibson-powered BR1 in the FIA World Endurance Championship ‘Super Season’.

They will be joined by Renger van der Zande for likely the entire season apart from the first round at Spa, where his IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship requirements will take priority.

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in European Le Mans Series