Connect with us

European Le Mans Series

Floersch Drafted into Algarve Pro Lineup for Portimao

Revised lineup in No. 24 Algarve Pro Racing Oreca 07 Gibson; 41 entries for Portimao…

Photo: Algarve Pro Racing

Sophia Floersch has been drafted into Algarve Pro Racing’s lineup for next weekend’s European Le Mans Series season-ending 4 Hours of Portimao, in place of Diego Menchaca.

The 20-year-old German, who is part of the Richard Mille Racing LMP2 squad in the FIA World Endurance Championship, will join Ferdinand Habsburg and Richard Bradley in the No. 24 Oreca 07 Gibson.

Floersch is taking part in a two-day test at Estoril with the Portuguese-based squad this week.

“My time with Algarve Pro Racing in the Portuguese sun has been fun, as everybody has been really open and positive from the very beginning,” she said.

“I have definitely improved and I’m now really looking forward to working with the team in Portimao.

“All year I’ve been jumping from GT3 machinery in the DTM to LMP2 in the FIA World Endurance Championship, so transitioning to a new team isn’t daunting.

“I’m currently in the process of working out what the best option is for me in 2022 and it’s important to cover as many kilometers as possible, and racing with Algarve Pro in the European Le Mans Series 4 Hours of Portimao is the right choice.

“I’ve been in endurance racing for a couple of seasons now and it will be interesting to see where I am in relation to Ferdinand and Richard, in among a very competitive field.”

Other Changes in 41-Car Portimao Entry

A total of 41 cars are listed for the sixth and final round of the season including several other notable additions and changes.

It includes the debut of Sainteloc Racing’s Ligier JS P3 Nissan in the LMP3 class for Fabien Michal and Lucas Legeret.

IDEC Sport’s second Oreca LMP2 car, designated for Era Motorsport’s Kyle Tilley and Dwight Merriman, is absent for the second consecutive race while Graff Racing has rejoined the LMP2 grid.

Newly crowned Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS Endurance Cup Silver champion Alex Fontana is in the No. 20 Team Virage Ligier LMP3, while Gianmaria Bruni returns to the No. 77 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR-19 after being replaced by Matt Campbell at Spa.

Shaun Thong replaces Andrea Fontana in JMW Motorsport’s Ferrari 488 GTE Evo while AF Corse has entered an additional Ferrari for Franck Dezoteux, Pierre Ragues and Come Ledogar.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in European Le Mans Series