Connect with us

European Le Mans Series

United Completes LMP2 Lineup with Aberdein Signing

Former DTM driver Jonathan Aberdein switches to LMP2 racing with United Autosports…

Photo: BMW

Defending European Le Mans Series LMP2 champion United Autosports has completed its driving squad for the 2021 season with the signing of DTM driver Jonathan Aberdein.

The South African will co-drive United’s No. 22 Oreca 07 Gibson with reigning LMP2 drivers’ champion Phil Hanson and last year’s LMP3 title-winner Tom Gamble.

Aberdein drove for BMW Team RMR in the DTM last season after switching to the Munich manufacturer from Audi privateer Team WRT.

The 22-year-old said he was “thrilled” to be joining United for his debut in the LMP2 category and in the ELMS.

“United Autosports had a very impressive year last year, proving themselves time and time again and ultimately bringing home the championship title,” commented Aberdein.

“We will be looking to repeat that level of success again this year.

“I believe we have a very strong driver line up and combining that with the engineering talent at United Autosports, I’m sure we will be a force to be reckoned with.”

Aberdein finished 11th in last year’s DTM standings, during the final year of the Class One regulations, and took his best race result of fourth at Zolder.

United’s sister Oreca 07 Gibson for the ELMS will be driven by Job van Uitert, Nico Jamin and Manuel Maldonado.

“We have filled our last LMP2 seat with a great driver, who I know will get to grips with LMP2 quickly,” said United Autosports co-owner Richard Dean.

“Both Phil, who has so much experience now with prototypes and Tom, who knows the ELMS well, will be on hand to help Jonathan settle into the team.

“I’m confident that the three of them will get on brilliantly and they will all be fighting at the front come the opening round in Barcelona.”

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in European Le Mans Series