Connect with us

24H Le Mans

REVIEW: Le Mans 2014 Yearbook

Sportscar365 reviews the 2014 LM24 official yearbook…


The 82nd running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans brought innovation back to La Sarthe, with all-new technical regulations in LMP1 resulting in one of the most unpredictable races in recent history.

Yet, in the end, it was Audi that pulled through to claim its 13th overall crown in the twice-around-the-clock French endurance classic, following an action-packed race that saw impressive pace not only from Toyota but also Porsche.

This year’s race can be re-lived through the Automobile Club de l’Ouest’s official 2014 Yearbook, which is now available.

Authored by Jean-Marc Teissedre and Alain Bienvenu, the 263-page yearbook again features more than 600 high-quality photos and detailed text, including technical analysis and statistics on each of the 56 starters in the race.

Also included are forwards by ACO President Pierre Fillon and the event’s Chief Starter, two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso.

Audi’s Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler claimed their third overall win in the last four years, taking their Audi R18 e-tron quattro to a three-lap victory over the sister entry of Lucas Di Grassi, Marc Gene and nine-time race winner Tom Kristensen, who as we now know, made his final Le Mans start.

While subtle changes have been made to the book compared to previous years, including a now blue-colored book spine instead of the previous white design used for decades, the yearbook is still an invaluable resource for fans and media alike.

2014 Le Mans Yearbook
ISBN: 9791028300319
Jean-Marc Teissedre
Alain Bienvenu
49 Euros ($60)

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in 24H Le Mans