Connect with us


Final Bahrain Rookie Test Entry List Released

A 13-car entry list is confirmed for the Bahrain Rookie Test on Sunday…

Photo: James Moy/Toyota

The entry list for today’s FIA World Endurance Championship rookie test at the Bahrain International Circuit has been released, with 13 cars set to take to the track.

ENTRY LIST: Rookie Test

The headline news confirmed after Saturday’s race is that two-time Formula 1 world champion Fernando Alonso will get his first LMP1 test with Toyota, running in the No. 8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid.

LMP2 driver Thomas Laurent will also conduct LMP1 testing with Toyota on Sunday in the No. 7 car, with Mike Conway and Sebastien Buemi on hand to shake down the cars for the drivers.

Pietro Fittipaldi will test the Porsche 919 Hybrid as a prize for winning the World Series Formula V8 3.5 title on Friday, with Timo Bernhard completing laps to set the car up.

Porsche LMP1 drivers Nick Tandy and Earl Bamber will get behind the wheel of the No. 91 Porsche 911 RSR, sharing running with Richard Lietz and Frederic Makowiecki.

Other additions to the entry list since its provisional publication include FV8 3.5 drivers Matevos Isaakyan and Alfonso Celis Jr., testing for Vaillante Rebellion and AF Corse respectively, Rinus van Kalmhout and Garett Grist (both Jackie Chan DC Racing).

Clearwater Racing will also appear in the test with its No. 61 Ferrari 488 GTE, with Olivier Beretta and Ishikawa Motoaki – initially listed as testing the No. 71 AF Corse entry – set to split running.

The test day will run from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. local time, with a one-hour lunch break.

Luke Smith is a British motorsport journalist who has served as NBC Sports’ lead Formula 1 writer since 2013, as well as working on its online sports car coverage.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC