Connect with us


Derani, Albuquerque Confirmed at Rebellion for Nürburgring

Pipo Derani, Filipe Albuquerque confirmed at Rebellion for Nürburgring…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

As first revealed by Sportscar365, Pipo Derani and Filipe Albuquerque will make their debuts with Vaillante Rebellion in next month’s Six Hours of Nürburging, filling in for its pair of Formula E drivers.

Derani will join Mathias Beche and David Heinemeier Hansson in the team’s No. 13 Oreca 07 Gibson, filling in for Nelson Piquet Jr., with Albuquerque in the No. 31 car alongside Bruno Senna and Julien Canal, subbing for Nico Prost.

It will mark Derani and Albuquerque’s debuts in Oreca LMP2 machinery, with both having extensive mileage in the Ligier JS P217 Gibson serving as development drivers for Onroak Automotive.

A total of 29 cars are entered for the fourth round of the FIA World Endurance Championship season, including the addition of the No. 34 Tockwith Ligier, which is not a full-season entrant.

Nigel Moore and Phil Hanson are listed as drivers for the only non-Oreca in the LMP2 class. The pairing were joined by Karun Chandhok at the last two WEC races.

In LMP1, Jose Maria Lopez is confirmed back in the No. 7 Toyota TS050 Hybrid after contesting the 24 Hours of Le Mans in the team’s third entry, while current Formula E championship leader Sebastien Buemi is listed to race the No. 8 Toyota.

Marco Bonanomi, meanwhile, is set to get another outing in the No. 4 ByKolles CLM P1/01 NISMO, replacing James Rossiter in the lineup for the second consecutive race.

Le Mans GTE-Pro class winner Daniel Serra will continue with Aston Martin Racing in the No. 97 entry alongside Jonny Adam and Darren Turner, although its No. 95 car features only a two-driver lineup of Marco Sorensen and Nicki Thiim.

The entry list also confirms a number of other driver changes, largely due to the conflicting Formula E race in New York City on the same weekend, including substitute drivers at CEFC Manor TRS Racing, G-Drive Racing and AF Corse.

The Six Hours of Nürburgring is set for July 14-16.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in FIA WEC