Connect with us


DragonSpeed Names Rolex 24 Winners for COTA Appearance

Braun, Hanley, Hedman to drive for DragonSpeed in team’s return to WEC LMP2 ranks…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Three of DragonSpeed’s Rolex 24 at Daytona class winners will appear for the team in its FIA World Endurance Championship cameo at Circuit of The Americas later this month.

The American outfit confirmed on Tuesday that Colin Braun, Ben Hanley and Henrik Hedman will drive the No. 21 Oreca 07 Gibson in the Lone Star Le Mans six-hour race.

DragonSpeed is set to return to the WEC grid for the first time since its full-time venture in the LMP2 and LMP1 classes during the 2018-19 ‘Super Season’.

The team elected not to return to either category for the current 2019-20 campaign but will be present at COTA to field its LMP2 Oreca that recently won the Rolex 24 in the hands of Braun, Hanley, Hedman and Harrison Newey.

Hanley was originally set to drive a Ginetta LMP1 car in the COTA race until Team LNT withdrew its two cars.

The loss of the two LNT prototypes enabled DragonSpeed to join the grid after a free garage spot became available.

DragonSpeed’s admission onto the 30-car entry list will result in a WEC debut for Braun, who was the 2018 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship runner-up.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC