Connect with us


FIA WEC World Champions Crowned in Doha

World Endurance Champions crowned at FIA Gala in Doha…

Photo: Jeff Carter/MacLean Photographic

Photo: Jeff Carter/MacLean Photographic

The FIA honored the 2014 World Endurance Champions Friday evening during the FIA Gala in Doha, Qatar surrounded by the other champions from world motorsport.

Toyota secured the FIA World Endurance Manufacturers’ Championship with the TS040 Hybrid, its first FIA world title since the Japanese manufacturer won the World Rally Championship in 1999.

The Japanese manufacturer beat the 2012 and 2013 champions Audi into second place, with Porsche finishing a strong third on its return to the top flight of endurance racing this season.

The Drivers’ World Championship was won in Bahrain with Toyota’s Anthony Davidson and Sébastien Buemi finishing ahead of the rest of the highly experienced field.

Davidson and Buemi took wins at Silverstone, where they secured the Royal Automobile Club Tourist Trophy, Spa-Francorchamps, Fuji and Shanghai and finished on the podium at the prestigious 24 Hours of Le Mans behind winners André Lotterer, Benoît Tréluyer and Marcel Fässler in the Audi R18 e-tron quattro.

In the FIA World Endurance Cup for GT Manufacturers, it was a three-way battle between Ferrari, Aston Martin and Porsche, with Ferrari securing the title at the final race of the year in Brazil.

The FIA World Endurance Cup for GT Drivers was won for the second year running by Italian Gianmaria Bruni, with the 2014 title being shared by his Finnish teammate Toni Vilander.

Bruni and Vilander secured the LMGTE Pro class win at the 2014 24 Hours of Le Mans and three other victories on their way to the world title this season.

“The World Endurance Championship is a partnership between the FIA and the ACO and, once again, we have shown what we can achieve together,” said ACO President Pierre Fillon.

“2015 already promises to be even better with the arrival of Nissan in LMP1 to join Audi, Porsche and Toyota and with a line-up of star drivers across all four classes.

“The FIA WEC will be back at the end of March with The Prologue at the Circuit Paul Ricard and then we can look forward to the opening round next April – the 6 Hours of Silverstone.”

Added FIA WEC CEO Gerard Neveu: “2014 has been a fantastic year for the FIA World Endurance Championship and in just three years has become a brand that is linked to exciting racing and great entertainment.

“We would like to congratulate Toyota and Ferrari on securing their respective manufacturer titles, and Anthony Davidson, Sébastien Buemi, Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander on their achievements this season.”

(Photos by Jeff Carter/MacLean Photographic)

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC